These stars have displayed memorable performance in each season of the league.

The popularity of kabaddi in India has kept on increasing every season due to the Pro Kabaddi League (PKL). It has also helped to increase the quality of the players plying their trade in the league. Exceptional foreign players also represent various teams and combine well with brilliant Indian talents. PKL has given a great platform to the Indian kabaddi stars who are now very popular figures in every corner of the country.

From the very beginning, some incredible individual performances have won the hearts of the fans. These players have performed brilliantly for their respective teams and impressed everyone with their displays. Keeping the individual brilliance of these players in mind, here is a look at each of the most valuable players from the previous seven seasons of the Pro Kabaddi League.

Season 7 – Naveen Kumar (Dabang Delhi)

Naveen Kumar has left his mark on the competition in the last two editions. He is the first player to execute 22 super-10s in a single season of the PKL. He was exceptional in the seventh season for Dabang Delhi, helping them to the final fixture.

He played 23 matches and scored 303 points with 64% raid strike rate in addition to 25% tackle strike rate. The young raider helped the team reach the top of the points table almost single-handedly. Moreover, Naveen Kumar became the youngest recipient of the most valuable player award at the age of 19-years-old. 

Season 6 – Pawan Sehrawat (Bengaluru Bulls)

Sehrawat was an important factor behind Bengaluru Bulls winning the sixth edition of the Pro Kabaddi League. The player created a bit of history after scoring 22 points in the final match of the season. In the process of making his team the champions, he also set the record for scoring the most points in the final. Furthermore, Pawan also holds the record for scoring a record 39 points in a single match.

He played 24 matches in the sixth season and scored 282 points for the outfit. Due to his sensational performance, Pawan became the most valuable player from that season.

Season 5 – Pardeep Narwal (Patna Pirates)

pradeep narwal
Narwal will play for UP Yoddha in the upcoming season (Photo credit: PKL)

Pardeep Narwal is a major figure when it comes to the league. He enjoys a huge fan following due to his incredible performance over the years. The player was instrumental in helping the Patna Pirates win three PKL titles. He has recorded over 1169 points overall in his Pro Kabaddi League career.

Pardeep Narwal was very impressive during the fifth season. He scored 369 raid points in 26 matches. Narwal executed 19 super-10s and 18 super raids in that season. This is precisely why he was chosen as the most valuable player for that particular edition. It was the second consecutive award for the player. Interestingly, the franchise released Pardeep Narwal ahead of season eight’s auction to the shock of many. He will play for UP Yoddha in the upcoming season.

Season 4 – Pardeep Narwal (Patna Pirates)

As mentioned before, Pardeep Narwal received the MVP award in consecutive seasons, the fourth and fifth. He was exceptional for Patna Pirates in the third season and guided the team to it’s first-ever Pro Kabaddi League title. Narwal carried that form into the fourth and became the most valuable player at the end of it. He was the second-highest raid points scorer with 131 points after Rahul Choudhary. He executed five super-10s and three super raids in 16 matches.

Narwal deceived top defenders due to his ‘dubki’ technique. Narwal also managed 16 points in the final against the Jaipur Pink Panthers.

Season 3 – Rohit Kumar (Patna Pirates)

रोहित कुमार rohit
Bengaluru Bulls won the title under Rohit’s captaincy (Photo credit: PKL)

Rohit Kumar was part of the Patna Pirates squad in the third season of the league. He is popularly known for captaining the Bengaluru Bulls team that won the sixth season of the league. However, he also guided the Pirates to the league title back in the third edition where he also won the most valuable player award. 

Rohit Kumar was brilliant for the team in the third season. He scored 102 raid points in 12 matches. He also scored eight points in the final, which was the highest. Owing to these achievements, he won the most valuable player award.

Season 2 – Manjeet Chillar (Bengaluru Bulls)

Manjeet Chillar was the winner of the most valuable player award in the second season of the Pro Kabaddi League. He scored 51 points in 16 matches in the first season for the Bulls. He carried that form into the second season and managed 107 points in 16 matches. 

The all-rounder scored 40 tackle points and 67 raid points during season two and helped the Bulls reach the final of the tournament. However, the outfit were beaten by U-Mumba in the final. 

Season 1 – Anup Kumar (U-Mumba)

Anup Kumar set the record for scoring the most raid points in the first season of the PKL. In that edition, Kumar scored 169 points in 16 matches. He made the most successful raids also during that process, making a total of 123 raids. 

Apart from that, he made eight super raids and added another 10 super-10s to his list of achievements. He won the most valuable player award for these reasons.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and Facebook.