News Article

AIFF Executive Committee approves TW3 test to curb age fraud


Sunil Chhetri, Anirudh Thapa, E Pathoi and Kamala Devi were also conferred with awards by the committee. 

The All India Football Federation (AIFF) Executive Committee held a Meeting, chaired by President Praful Patel in Mumbai earlier on Sunday.

Besides, AIFF General Secretary Kushal Das; Vice Presidents Subrata Dutta, Larsing Ming, KMI Mather, Manavendra Singh, Treasurer ZA Thakur, all other members except AR Khaleel, Sanjay Behera, Deepak Kumar, Lalnghinglova Hmar and Sara Pilot, attended the meeting.

Chirag Tanna, representing FSDL attended the meeting as an invitee along with FIFA RDO Prince Rufus.

The Committee strongly condemned Indian Olympic Committee’s decision to debar Football teams from participating in the forthcoming Asian Games scheduled to be held in Jakarta.

The Committee also unanimously ratified the 2018-19 Club licensing regulations.

Meanwhile, in a further effort to curb age-fraud, the TW3 test, which has been accepted by the Supreme Court as an age verification test as well used extensively used by the BCCI, has been implemented by the Committee for all age-group competitions including Club competitions, state tournaments and even National Team competitions. The costs for the tests would be borne by the respective Clubs and State Associations.

Abiding by FIFA regulations, the Committee ratified the use of five substitutions in age-group competitions along with an extra substitute if the match is stretched to extra-time.

The Committee also recommended that a standard draft agreement be circulated to the clubs which will include all clauses which need to be included as per FIFA regulations. However, Clubs would be allowed to use certain variable clauses as an annexure. This will be implemented from the 2019-20 season.


India Women's U-17 go down against China in BRICS Cup

Five instances that define Luis Norton de Matos and his time in India

Why the Toyota Yaris La Liga World is important for Indian Football?

Roma Khanna apprised the Committee about the updates on AIFF’s Centre of Excellence presently coming up in Kolkata while Prince Rufus apprised the Committee about the FIFA Forward programme.

Based on AIFF two-member Committee’s ( Subrata Dutta and Col. BMR Mehta) visit to Football Association, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, the Committee decided to grant provisional affiliation to Dadra and Nagra Naveli which would later be approved by AIFF’s General Body in the AGM meeting later.

Meanwhile, Sunil Chhetri was declared the 2017 AIFF Player of the Year while Kamala Devi bagged was adjudged the 2017 AIFF Woman Player of the Year.

Anirudh Thapa and E Panthoi were adjudged the 2017 Emerging Player and the 2017 Woman Emerging Player of the Year respectively.

The full list of the 2017 Awards are as follows:

2017 AIFF Award for Best Grassroots Development Programme: Kerala FA.

2017 AIFF Award for long-time contribution to Indian Football: Hero Motocorp.

2017 AIFF Award for Best Assistant Referee:  Sumanta Datta (Assam).

2017 AIFF Award for Best Referee:  CR Srikrishna.

2017 AIFF Emerging Woman Footballer of the Year:  E Panthoi.

2017 AIFF Emerging Player of the Year:  Anirudh Thapa.

2017 AIFF Woman Footballer of the Year:  Kamala Devi.

2017 AIFF Player of the Year:  Sunil Chhetri.

Published: Sun Jul 22, 2018 07:04 PM IST


Welcome to Khel Now!