Harmanpreet Singh, the active top-scorer from the squad, will be leading the Men in Blue at the quadrennial mega event.

16 teams are set to participate in the 15th edition of the Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023 to be held in Odisha, India. The teams are spread across four groups with each group consisting of four teams. The table toppers from each group will progress to the quarterfinals and the second and third-positioned teams will have to fight out for the remaining four spots through crossovers. All the teams have announced their squad and captains and have landed in Odisha for the Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023.

It is difficult to keep track of the captain of a particular team in a sport like Field Hockey. It is so teams can have multiple players overseeing the leadership responsibilities of the team. For example, the Indian men’s team currently has senior players like Manpreet Singh, Harmanpreet Singh, PR Sreejesh and Amit Rohidas leading the group in many different ways. The captain could be any one of the four, or at times, someone not even on the list of the four players.

Yet, we bring you the list of the names that are declared by their official federations as the captain of the national squads for the Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023. In cases where we couldn’t find the name, we have included the player who had captained their team in the most recent games the team played.

Pool A 

Argentina – Matias Rey

Australia – Eddie Ockeden and Aran Zalewski

France – Victor Charlet

South Africa – Dayaan Cassiem

Pool B

Belgium – Felix Denayer

Germany – Mats Grambusch

Japan – Seren Tanaka

South Korea – Lee Lamyong

Pool C

Netherlands – Thierry Brinkman

New Zealand – Nic Woods

Chile – Fernando Renz

Malaysia – Marhan Jalil

Pool D

India – Harmanpreet Singh

Spain – Marc Miralles

Wales – Lewis Prosser, Ruppeart Shipperley, and Luke Hawker

England – David Ames

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.