India will be hosting the quadrennial mega event for the fourth time in history in 2023.

The Men’s Hockey World Cup was first held in the year 1971 in Barcelona, Spain. Since then the World Cup has been held after a gap of every four years. The 1986 edition was a historic World Cup as it was the first time a major hockey tournament was played on astroturf. But the 1976 Montreal Olympics was the first tournament time a hockey match was held in astroturf. India will be hosting the quadrennial megaevent for the fourth time the highest followed by the Netherlands with three.

Let’s take a look at the hosts of all the FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup so far:

List of Hosts of Men’s Hockey World Cup:

1971Barcelona, SpainPakistanSpain
1973Amstelveen, NetherlandsNetherlandsIndia
1975Kuala Lumpur, MalaysiaIndiaPakistan
1978Buenos Aires, ArgentinaPakistanNetherlands
1982Bombay, IndiaPakistanWest Germany
1986London, EnglandAustraliaEngland
1990Lahore, PakistanNetherlandsPakistan
1994Sydney, AustraliaPakistanNetherlands
1998Utrecht, NetherlandsNetherlandsSpain
2002Kuala Lumpur, MalaysiaGermanyAustralia
2006Monchengladbach, GermanyGermanyAustralia
2010New Delhi, IndiaAustraliaGermany
2014The Haque, NetherlandsAustraliaNetherlands
2018Bhubaneshwar, IndiaBelgiumNetherlands
2023Bhubaneshwar-Rourkela, India
List of FIH Men’s World Cup hosts

India will be hosting the Men’s World Cup for the third time within a span of 12 years (2010, 2014, and 2023). Also, India, for the first time, will be hosting matches in two different cities, Bhubaneshwar and Rourkela, both in Odisha. In the 2018 edition, all the matches were held in Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneshwar whereas this time matches will also be held at the Birsa Munda International stadium in Rourkela.

Overall Europe has hosted the World Cup six times, Asia six times and South America and Oceania once each. Historically, hosts have done well in the World Cup and India will hope that they better their previous outing of 2018 in which the Men in Blue bowed out in the quarter-finals against the Netherlands.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.