Maharashtra, Puducherry and Manipur also secured wins.

Today’s action in the 13th Hockey India Senior Women National Championship 2023 Kakinada, Andhra Pradesh saw Hockey Maharashtra, Le Puducherry Hockey, Hockey Madhya Pradesh, and Manipur Hockey pick up three points each. 

Hockey Maharashtra defeated Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu by a score of 8-0 ensuring their top-place finish in Pool H. The goal scorers were H Lalruatfeli (10’, 36’), Akansha Singh (12’, 13’), Lalhlunmawii (16’), Ashwini Kolekar (47’), Bhavana Khade (49’), and Lalrindiki (53’). 

Following their win, Player of the Match Shalini Sakure said, “Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu is a good team but we played a complete game out there today and it is a pleasure to qualify for the Quarter Finals, we aim to keep playing in the same fashion, and take the trophy home.” 

The second match in Pool H ended with Le Puducherry Hockey winning against Hockey Andaman & Nicobar by a margin of 12-0. Team Captain S. Subarsi (5’, 38’, 43’, 45’, 45’, 46’, 51’, 52’) led her team from the front, scoring a whopping 8 goals while Agnes Malsawmkimi (12’, 16’, 28’, 59’) netted 4 goals for Le Puducherry Hockey as they collected three points. Agnes Malsawmkimi won the Player of the Match award for her impressive performance. 

Hockey Madhya Pradesh beat Delhi Hockey 7-1

Hockey Madhya Pradesh continued its winning streak against Delhi Hockey by beating them 7-1 in their final Pool G encounter. The goals for Hockey Madhya Pradesh were scored by Anjali Gautam (9’), Yogita Bora (15’), Pratibha Arya (23’), Preeti Dubey (27’, 45’), Diksha Tiwari (36’) and Prashu Parihar (47’). Juhi (51’) scored the lone goal for Delhi Hockey in the dying minutes. 

After winning the Player of the Match Award Yogita was bullish about her team’s chances going forward.  “The team has been playing extremely well so far and there is a real buzz around the team and we are confident that if we maintain our rich form, we will reach the final”, she said.  

Indian Sports Live Coverage on Khel Now

The final encounter of the day between Telangana Hockey and Manipur Hockey was a goal glut with Manipur Hockey winning by a 13-0 margin. The goal scorers were Player of the Match Kshetrimayum Sonia Devi (10’, 49’), Lily Chanu Mayengbam (12’, 20’, 32’, 57’), Pinky Devi Thokchom (14’, 14’), Chingshubam Sanggai Ibemhal (28’, 41’), Takhellambam Ayingbi Chanu (31’) and Marina Lalramnghaki (43’, 51’).     

Quarter Finalists Hockey Jharkhand will play Hockey Punjab to kick off action at 0700 and Hockey Haryana will take on Hockey Bengal at 0900 and the match between Hockey Association of Odisha and Hockey Maharashtra will start at 1100 while Hockey Madhya Pradesh and Hockey Karnataka will play the last game of the day at 1500. 

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.