The tournament will begin on the 22nd of August.

The 27th edition of the BWF World Championships begins on the 22nd of August. The tournament is hosted by Tokyo, Japan at the Tokyo Metropolitan Gymnasium. Japan is hosting the event for the first time in the 45 years of history of the Championships. A total of 364 shuttlers from 46 different nations will battle for the ultimate glory in five different categories.

A total of 26 shuttlers will represent India across all five categories. The Indian contingent will be without their ace player, PV Sindhu as she had to pull out from the tournament due to a foot injury. Although, the former World No. 1 Saina Nehwal who missed out on the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham will be leading the squad. The Indian shuttlers made an impressive performance at the Commonwealth Games as they clinched a total of six medals including three golds, a silver and two bronze medals.

Kidambi Srikanth lost the finals in the last edition against Singapore’s Loh Kean Yew settling for a silver medal. Lakshya Sen was the other medallist for India claiming a bronze losing against his fellow Srikanth in the men’s singles semifinals as India finished joint fifth with South Korea with just two medals.


All the matches will be played in the Tokyo Metropolitan Gymnasium in Tokyo.

Indian contingent

Kidambi Srikanth – Men’s Singles

Lakshya Sen – Men’s Singles

B. Sai Praneeth – Men’s Singles

Prannoy H.S. – Men’s Singles

Malvika Bansod – Women’s Singles

Saina Nehwal – Women’s Singles

Manu Attri – Men’s Doubles

Sumeeth B. Reddy – Men’s Doubles

Indian Sports Live Coverage on Khel Now

Arjun M.R – Men’s Doubles

Dhruv Kapila – Men’s Doubles

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy – Men’s Doubles

Chirag Shetty – Men’s Doubles

Krishna Parag Garaga – Men’s Doubles

Vishnuvardhan Goud Panjala – Men’s Doubles

Ashwini Ponappa – Women’s Doubles

Sikki N. Reddy – Women’s Doubles

Pooja Dandu – Women’s Doubles

Santosh Sanjana – Women’s Doubles

Treesa Jolly – Women’s Doubles

Gayatri Gopichand Pullela – Women’s Doubles

Ashwini Bhat K. – Women’s Doubles

Shikha Gautam – Women’s Doubles

Ishan Bhatnagar – Mixed Doubles

Tanisha Crasto – Mixed Doubles

Venkat Gaurav Prasad – Mixed Doubles

Juhi Dewangan – Mixed Doubles

Fixtures & Results

All matches are to begin at 7:30 am

August 22 – Round 1

L Wraber (AUT) vs HS Prannoy – Men’s Singles

N. Nguyen (IRL) vs Srikanth Kidambi – Men’s Singles

T. C. Chou (TPE) 21-15, 15-21, 21-15 B. Sai Praneeth – Men’s Singles

H. K Vittinghus (DEN) vs Lakshya Sen – Men’s Singles

Malvika Bansod vs L Christophersen (DEN) – Women’s Singles

Saina Nehwal vs N.Y. Cheung (HNK) – Women’s Singles

Dhruv Kapila/Arjun M.R vs K. Kedren/S. Jomkoh (THA) – Men’s Doubles

F. Delrue/W. Villeger (FRA) vs Krishna Parag Garaga/Vishnuvardhan Goud Panjala – Men’s Doubles

H. Okamura/M. Onodera (JPA) vs Manu Attri/Sumeeth B. Reddy – Men’s Doubles

F. Abdul Razzaq/A. N. Abdul Razzaq (MV) 7-21, 9-21 Ashwini Ponappa/Sikki N. Reddy – Women’s Doubles

I. Castillo/P. L. T. Regal (AUT) vs Pooja Dandu/Santosh Sanjana – Women’s Doubles

Low Yeen Yuan/V. Siow (MYS) vs Treesa Jolly/Gayatri Gopichand Pullela – Women’s Doubles

M. Corsini/J. Mair (ITA) vs Ashwini Bhat K./Shikha Gautam – Women’s Doubles

F. Volkmann/P. Scheiel (GER) 12-21, 13-21 Ishan Bhatnagar/Tanisha Crasto – Mixed Doubles

Venkat Gaurav Prasad/Juhi Dewangan vs J. Moore/G. Mairs (ENG) – Mixed Doubles

Telecast & Streaming

The live-action of BWF World Championships on Sports 18 and on the OTT platform Voot.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.