They knocked Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Delhi and Bihar respectively out of the quarter-finals.

As the Quarter Finals of the 11th Junior Hockey Nationals 2021, Kovilpatti, Tamil Nadu got underway in Kovilpatti today, Hockey Chandigarh, Hockey Haryana, Uttar Pradesh Hockey and Hockey Association of Odisha registered statement wins over Hockey Punjab, Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu, Delhi Hockey and Hockey Bihar respectively, to secure their berth in the Semi Final.

In the first Quarter Final match of the day, Hockey Chandigarh edged out Hockey Punjab 3 – 2 in a closely contested encounter. After Sumit (8’) gave Hockey Chandigarh an early lead, Simranjot Singh (22’) levelled the score for Hockey Punjab in the second quarter. As both teams went back and forth in the third quarter, Rohit (44’) put Hockey Chandigarh in front again, only to be pegged back by Rajinder Singh’s equaliser in the 45th minute. Rohit (51’) then doubled his tally to give Hockey Chandigarh a decisive 3 – 2 lead, which they saw out to book their place in the Junior Hockey Nationals Semi Final.

In the second Junior Hockey Nationals Quarter Final, Hockey Haryana earned a clinical 7 – 3 victory over home side Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu. Hockey Haryana’s surge towards a Semi Final berth was led by a hat-trick from Deepak (4’, 27’, 46’), a brace from Amandeep (4’, 32’) and one goal each from Pankaj (19’) and Rohit (59’). For Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu, Aravind Kumar S (5’), Sathish B (49’) and Aravind (55’) got on the score sheet.

Uttar Pradesh Hockey notched a decisive 9 – 0 victory against previously unbeaten Delhi Hockey to book their place in the Junior Hockey Nationals Semi Final. Sharda Nand Tiwari (3’, 12’, 22’, 27’, 51’) led the charge with five goals to his name, followed by Manish Sahani (16’, 29’), Captain Vishnukant Singh (43’) and Mohammad Haris (54’).

In the fourth Quarter Final of the Junior Hockey Nationals, Hockey Association of Odisha ran out 4 – 1 winners over Hockey Bihar thanks to a late burst of goals. After an intense first half where the score remained 0 – 0, Amandeep Lakra (38’) gave Hockey Association of Odisha the lead, before Suhant Toppo (44’) doubled their advantage. Monu Kumar (50’) pulled one goal back for Hockey Bihar, but Sudeep Chirmako (51’, 60’) dashed their hopes thanks to two late goals.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and join our community on Telegram.