Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score


List of all World Heavyweight Champions in WWE history

Published at :May 19, 2024 at 4:00 AM
Modified at :May 19, 2024 at 4:00 AM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : WWE)

Akash Dhanagaran

The Championship was brought back in 2023

The World Heavyweight Championship is one of the prestigious championships created and promoted by WWE. The title was established in 2002 after WWE bought WCW and ECW. The WWE title and WCW World Heavyweight Championship were unified under the name Undisputed WWE Champion in 2001 and became the asset of the SmackDown brand. The World Heavyweight Championship was brought to counter the Undisputed title.

The ‘Big Gold Title’ was considered as the World Heavyweight Championship, which was in effect from 2002 to 2013. In 2013 it was unified with the WWE Championship and the World Heavyweight Championship was retired. In 2023, after a decade, a new World Heavyweight Championship was brought. Although the new title is named the same, but the lineage of the title is different from the old era.

World Heavyweight Championship Legacy

Triple H was the first World Heavyweight Champion of the old title, whereas Seth Rollins was the first World Heavyweight Champion when the title was brought back in 2023. The title has seen a total of 58 championship reigns (55- old, 3 new) and 28 champions (25-old, 3 new) were crowned. Triple H has the longest reign with 616 days combined reign, whereas Batista has the longest single reign with 282 days with the old title.

When it comes to the new title, Seth Rollins is the longest-reigning champion with 316 days. Edge has the most reigns with 7. Randy Orton was the youngest (24) and Undertaker was the oldest (44) to hold the World Heavyweight Championship. Randy Orton was the last to hold the old World Heavyweight Champion and was the one to retire the title in 2013.

Current World Heavyweight Champion

Damian Priest is the current World Heavyweight Champion, who won the title by cashing in the Money in the Bank contract against Drew Mcintyre at WrestleMania 40 Night 2. He is currently on 40+ days reign as the champion.

List of all World Heavyweight Champions (2002-2013)

NameDateDays reignEvent
Triple HSeptember 2, 200276Raw
Shawn MichaelsNovember 17, 200228Survivor Series
Triple HDecember 15, 2002280Armageddon
GoldbergSeptember 21, 200384Unforgiven
Triple HDecember 14, 200391Armageddon
Chris BenoitMarch 14, 2004154WrestleMania XX
Randy OrtonAugust 15, 200428SummerSlam
Triple HSeptember 12, 200485Unforgiven
VacatedDecember 6, 2004Raw
Triple HJanuary 9, 200584New Year’s Revolution
BatistaApril 3, 2005282WrestleMania 21
VacatedJanuary 10, 2006SmackDown!
Kurt AngleJanuary 10, 200682SmackDown!
Rey MysterioApril 2, 2006112WrestleMania 22
King BookerJuly 23, 2006126The Great American Bash
BatistaNovember 26, 2006126Survivor Series
The UndertakerApril 1, 200737WrestleMania 23
EdgeMay 8, 200770SmackDown!
VacatedJuly 17, 2007SmackDown!
The Great KhaliJuly 17, 200761SmackDown!
BatistaSeptember 16, 200791Unforgiven
EdgeDecember 16, 2007105Armageddon
The UndertakerMarch 30, 200830WrestleMania XXIV
VacatedApril 29, 2008SmackDown
EdgeJune 1, 200829One Night Stand
CM PunkJune 30, 200869Raw
Chris JerichoSeptember 7, 200849Unforgiven
BatistaOctober 26, 20088Cyber Sunday
Chris JerichoNovember 3, 200820Raw
John CenaNovember 23, 200884Survivor Series
EdgeFebruary 15, 200949No Way Out
John CenaApril 5, 200921WrestleMania 25
EdgeApril 26, 200942Backlash
Jeff HardyJune 7, 2009<1Extreme Rules
CM PunkJune 7, 200949Extreme Rules
Jeff HardyJuly 26, 200928Night of Champions
CM PunkAugust 23, 200942SummerSlam
The UndertakerOctober 4, 2009140Hell in a Cell
Chris JerichoFebruary 21, 201037Elimination Chamber
Jack SwaggerMarch 30, 201082SmackDown
Rey MysterioJune 20, 201028Fatal 4-Way
KaneJuly 18, 2010154Money in the Bank
EdgeDecember 19, 201058TLC: Tables, Ladders & Chairs
VacatedFebruary 15, 2011SmackDown
Dolph ZigglerFebruary 15, 2011<1SmackDown
EdgeFebruary 15, 201156SmackDown
VacatedApril 12, 2011SmackDown
ChristianMay 1, 20112Extreme Rules
Randy OrtonMay 3, 201175SmackDown
ChristianJuly 17, 201128Money in the Bank
Randy OrtonAugust 14, 201135SummerSlam
Mark HenrySeptember 18, 201191Night of Champions
Big ShowDecember 18, 2011<1TLC: Tables, Ladders & Chairs
Daniel BryanDecember 18, 2011105TLC: Tables, Ladders & Chairs
SheamusApril 1, 2012210WrestleMania XXVIII
Big ShowOctober 28, 201272Hell in a Cell
Alberto Del RioJanuary 8, 201390SmackDown
Dolph ZigglerApril 8, 201369Raw
Alberto Del RioJune 16, 2013133Payback
John CenaOctober 27, 201349Hell in a Cell
Randy OrtonDecember 15, 2013<1TLC: Tables, Ladders & Chairs
UnifiedDecember 15, 2013TLC: Tables, Ladders & Chairs

List of all World Heavyweight Champion (2023- present)

NameDateDays ReignEvent
Seth “Freakin” RollinsMay 27, 2023316Night of Champions
Drew McIntyreApril 7, 2024<1WrestleMania XL Night 2
Damian PriestApril 7, 202441+WrestleMania XL Night 2

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.