Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score


Abdulla Aboobacker finishes eighth in men's triple jump event at Xiamen Diamond League 2024

Published at :April 21, 2024 at 4:26 PM
Modified at :May 4, 2024 at 11:30 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : TOI)

Ashwathy Rajendran

Aboobacaker leaped 16.33 meters in his fourth attempt.

Abdulla Aboobacker, the sole Indian athlete at the inaugural Diamond League event of 2024, secured the eighth position in the men’s triple jump event at the Xiamen Diamond League 2024 held in China on Saturday, April 20th. His leap of 16.33 meters marked his second competition of the year, following his gold medal performance of 16.76m at the Indian Open Jumps Competition held in Bengaluru in March.

ALSO READ: Murali Sreeshankar out of Paris Olympics due to knee injury

He began with a 15.79m jump, followed by an improvement to 16.30m in his second attempt. His peak performance of 16.33 meters was achieved on his fourth attempt, nestled between two fouls, leaving no opportunity for further improvement.

Abdulla showed promise as a strong contender for Olympic qualification, although meeting the entry standards may present a challenge. However, his favourable ranking and participation in international events enhance his chances of making it to Paris.

Overall, the men’s triple jump event produced some exciting results. Portugal’s Pedro Pichardo, reigning Olympic champion and two-time Diamond League trophy winner dominated the field in Xiamen by setting a meet record with a jump of 17.51m. This performance surpassed Andy Díaz’s previous record of 17.43m from 2023.

Following closely behind, Burkina Faso’s Hugues Fabrice Zango, the bronze medalist at Tokyo 2020, secured the second spot with a jump of 17.12m.

Adding to the excitement, the local favourite, Su Wen claimed the third position with a season’s best jump of 16.82m with the support of the home crowd.

Trending Indian Sports articles

Other Standout Performances at Xiamen Diamond League 2024

  • Armand Duplantis (Sweden): Made history by shattering his own pole vault world record, clearing 6.24 meters. The Olympic and two-time world champion clinched his eighth world record with this feat.
  • Christian Coleman (USA): Finished first in the men’s 100 meters, clocking 10.13 seconds.
  • Fred Kerley (USA): Secured second place in the men’s 100 meters with a time of 10.17 seconds.
  • Ackeem Blake (Jamaica): Finished third in the men’s 100 meters in 10.20 seconds.
  • Gudaf Tsegay (Ethiopia): The world record holder in the women’s 5000 meters delivered an astounding performance by clocking the third-fastest time in the history of the women’s 1500 meters, crossing the finish line in 3:50.30 seconds.
  • Torrie Lewis (Australia): In a surprising turn of events in the women’s 200 meters, the 19-year-old emerged victorious, narrowly defeating 100-meter world champion Sha’Carri Richardson. Lewis, running in the outermost lane, finished in 22.96 seconds, just ahead of Richardson’s 22.99 seconds.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram