Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score


All England Open 2023: Updated schedule, fixtures, results & live streaming details

Published at :March 13, 2023 at 10:23 PM
Modified at :March 18, 2023 at 10:24 PM
Post Featured Image

Monotosh Ghosh

The tournament starts on March 14 in Birmingham.

The All England Open Badminton Championships is going to start on 14 March. The championship is going to be hosted at the Utilita Arena Birmingham from 14 to 19 March. The tournament is considered one of the most prestigious and oldest badminton tournaments. It is certainly going to be very exciting and entertaining. Some of the bests in the game like Akane Yamaguchi, Chen Yufel, Antony Ginting, and Victor Axelsen will fight for the top prizes at the All England Open. From India, stars like Lakshay Sen, P.V Sindhu, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty in doubles are also going to participate.

All England Open: History and past performance of Indians

The All England Open is one of the if not the oldest badminton tournaments. The tournament was started after the first open tournament in Guildford, England was held in 1899. In the past, this tournament was the most prestigious one. It was equivalent to the present times of major tournaments. This is the reason why some of the biggest names of the game played it in the past and also play till now. The All England Open Badminton Championship is currently sponsored by Yonex and the tournament's total prize pool is $1,250,000.

In the history of the All England Open Badminton Championship only twice Indian players have lifted the trophy. Prakash Padukone in 1980 became the first Indian to lift the trophy and in 1981 he finished as the runner-up. The second Indian player to win was Pullela Gopichand in 2001. Moreover, the likes of Prakash Nath in 1947, Sania Nehwal in 2015, and in 2022 Lakshya Sen have finished as runners-up.

When will the All England Open Badminton Championship start?

The All England Open Badminton Championship will start on Tuesday, March 14, 2023. The finals of the tournament are going to be on Sunday, March 19, 2023.

Where will the All England Open Badminton Championship be held?

The All England Open Badminton Championship, which is a part of BWF World Tour, is going to be hosted in Utilita Arena Birmingham, Birmingham.

All England Open Badminton Championship details

Round 1 - 14th March 2023

Round 2 - 16th March 2023

Quarterfinals - 17th March 2023

Semifinals - 18th March 2023

Final - 19th March 2023

Who are the Defending Champions?

Men's singles - Viktor Axelsen (Denmark)

Women's Singles - Akane Yamaguchi (Japan)

Men's Doubles - Muhammad Shohibul Fikri (Indonesia) and Bagas Maulana (Indonesia)

Women's Doubles - Nami Matsuyama (Japan) and Chiharu Shida (Japan)

Mixed doubles - Yuta Watanabe (Japan) and Arisa Higashino (Japan)

Who are the players representing India in the All England Open Badminton Championship?

Men's Singles - Lakshya Sen, Kidambi Srikant, and Prannoy H.S

Men's Doubles - Satwiksairaja Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty, M.R. Arjun/Dhruv Kapila

Women's Singles - Sania Nehwal (Withdrew), P.V. Sindhu

Women's Doubles - Gayatri Gopichand Pullela/Tressa Jolly

Mixed Doubles - Ishan Bhatnagar/Tanisha Crasto

Who are the seeded players in the All England Open Badminton Championship?

Men's Singles - 1. Viktor Axelsen, 2. Christie Jonathan, 3. Ginting Anthony Sinisuka, 4. Lee Zii Jia, 5. Chou Tien Chen, 6. Vitidsarn Kunlavut, 7. Naraoka Kodai, 8. Loh Kean Yew

Women's Singles - 1. Akane Yamaguchi, 2. An Se Young, 3. Tai Tzu Ying, 4. Chen Yu Fei, 5. He Bing Jiao, 6. Wang Zhi Yi 7. Carolina Marin, 8. Ratchanok Intanon

Men's Doubles - 1. Fajar Alfian/Muhammad Rian Ardianto, 2. Aaron Chia/Soh Wooi Yik, 3. Hendra Setiawan/Mohammad Ahsan, 4. Takuro Hoki/Yugo Kobayashi, 5. Liu Yen Chen/Ou Xuan Yi, 6. Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty, 7. Kim Astrup/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen, 8. Ong Yew Sin/Teo Ee Yi

Women's Doubles - 1. Chen Qing Chen/Jia Yi Fan, 2. Chiharu Shida/Nami Matsuyama 3. Zheng Yu/Zhang Shu Xian, 4. Kim Hye Jeong/Jeong Na Eun, 5. Tan Pearly/Thinaah Muralitharan, 6. Kim So Yeong/ Kong Hee Yong, 7. Rawinda Prajongjai/Jongkolphal Kititharakul, 8. Apriyani Rahayu/Siti Fadia Silva Ramadhanti

Mixed Doubles - 1. Zheng Si Wei/Huang Ya Qiong, 2. Yuta Watanabe/Arisa Higashino, 3. Dechapol Puavaranukroh/Sapsiree Taerattanachai, 4. Thom Gicquel/Delphine Delrue. 5. Feng Yan Zhe/Huang Dong Ping, 6. Tan Kian Meng/La Pie Jeng, 7. Go Soon Huat/Lai Shevon Jemie, 8. Mark Lamsfuss/Isabel Lohau

Where and how to watch the live telecast and live streaming of All England Open Badminton Championship?

Fans in India can watch the live telecast of the All England Open Badminton Championships 2023 on Sports 18 1 TV channel from the quarter-final stage.

The live streaming of the tournament will be available on Jio Cinema from March 16 onwards. Meanwhile, fans can also catch the live streaming the BWF's official YouTube channel.

DD Sports will also be showing the live action of the All England Open Badminton Championship on the DD Sports Free Dish channel on TV and on Prasar Bharati YouTube page.

Full schedule and Fixtures of Indian Players in All England Open Badminton

March 14 (Tuesday) - Day 1

Men's Singles Round of 32

HS Prannoy beat Wang Tzu Wei (21-19, 22-20)

Lakshya Sen beat Chou Tien Chen (21-18, 21-19)

March 15 (Wednesday) Day 2

Men's Singles Round of 32

Kidambi Srikanth beat Toma Junior Popov (19-21, 21-14, 21-5)

Women's Singles Round of 32

PV Sindhu lost to Zhang Yi Man (17-21, 11-21)

Men's Doubles Round of 32

Krishna Garaga/Vishnuvardhan Panjala lost to Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty (13-21, 13-21)

MR Arjun/Dhruv Kapila lost to Ren Xiang Yu/Tan Qiang (16-21, 15-21)

Women's Doubles Round of 32

Ashwini Bhat/Shikha Gautam lost to Baek Ha Na/Lee So Hee (9-21, 8-21)

Treesa Jolly/Gayatri Gopichand beat Jongkolphan Kititharakul/Rawinda Prajongjai (21-18, 21-14)

March 16 (Thursday) Day 3

Men's Singles Round of 16

HS Prannoy lost to Anthony Sinisuka Ginting (20-22, 21-15, 17-21) | Highlights

Lakshya Sen lost to Anders Antonsen (13-21, 15-21) | Highlights

Kidambi Srikanth lost to Kodai Naraoka (17-21, 15-21) | Highlights

Men's Doubles Round of 16

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty lost to Liang Wei Keng/Wang Chang - (21-10, 17-21, 19-21) | Highlights

Women's Doubles Round of 16

Treesa Jolly/Gayatri Gopichand beat Yuki Fukushima/Sayaka Hirota (21-14, 24-22) | Highlights

March 17 (Friday) Day 4

Treesa Jolly/Gayatri Gopichand beat Li Wen Mei/Liu Xuan Xuan (21-14, 18-21, 21-12) | Highlights

March 18 (Saturday) Day 5

Treesa Jolly/Gayatri Gopichand loses to Baek Ha Na/Lee So Hee (10-21, 10-21) | Highlights