Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

Badminton Asia Championships 2024

Full list of players who have withdrawn from Badminton Asia Championships 2024

Published at :April 10, 2024 at 1:17 PM
Modified at :April 10, 2024 at 1:17 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : BAI)

Ajay Gandhar

Men’s doubles defending champion Satwik-Chirag has withdrawn from the tournament.

The world’s top men’s doubles pair, Satwik-Chirag, have been forced to withdraw from the Badminton Asia Championships 2024 due to a shoulder injury sustained by Satwik. The World No 1 duo, who made history by becoming the first Indian pair to clinch gold in the championship’s history, won’t feature in this year’s Asia’s premier tournament.

In a similar vein of disappointment, Malaysia’s Ng Tze Yong, the country’s second-ranked men’s singles player, has also stepped back from the competition. Tze Yong’s year has been marred by challenges, with injuries leading him to miss over 70% of the 2024 calendar events. His withdrawal from Ningbo has placed his Olympic qualification in jeopardy, leaving his chances hanging by a thread.

Other Notable withdrawals include the likes of Aiimsaard Sisters and Pornpawee Chochuwong.

The Badminton Asia Championships in Ningbo, China, is a crucial event for Asian badminton players. It’s the last tournament where they can earn points that count towards qualifying for the 2024 Paris Olympics.

With the deadline on April 28, this BWF Super 1000 event is their final shot to improve their world rankings and secure a place in the Olympics.

It’s a high-stakes situation with intense competition, as over 300 athletes are vying for the chance to represent their countries on one of the world’s biggest sports stages this July.

Trending Indian Sports articles

List of players to have withdrawn from Badminton Asia Championships 2024

Men’s singles

  • Ng Tze Yong (Malaysia)

Women’s singles

  • Pornpawee Chochuwong (Thailand)

Men’s doubles

  • Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty (India)

Women’s doubles

  • Benyapa Aiimsaard/Nuntakarn Aiimsaard (Thailand)
  • Apriyani Rahayu/Siti Fadia Silva Ramadhanti (Indonesia)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram