Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Najmul Hossain Shanto to lead as Bangladesh name 15-man squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Published at :May 14, 2024 at 4:30 PM
Modified at :May 14, 2024 at 4:30 PM
Post Featured Image



Bangladesh are placed in Group D with South Africa, Sri Lanka, Netherlands, and Nepal.

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB), on May 14, 2024, announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024. Najmul Hossain Shanto will captain the side in the ICC event that will take place in June in the USA and the West Indies.

Bangladesh are placed in Group D alongside South Africa, Sri Lanka, the Netherlands, and Nepal for next month’s event, with their first match against Sri Lanka on June 7 in Dallas.

One of the biggest surprises was the inclusion of veteran batter Mahmudullah. He was not selected for the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia but has been named to Bangladesh’s squad for the upcoming 2024 T20 World Cup. Mahmudullah’s return is arguably the team’s talking point.

The 38-year-old has not been part of the T20I squad since September 2022, but he returned earlier this year for a home series against Sri Lanka in March. As a result, Mahmudullah was a regular in the T20Is against Zimbabwe, putting him in a good position to join the squad.

Taskin Ahmed picked in Bangladesh squad despite injury, named vice-captain

Despite his struggles with injuries, Taskin Ahmed has been named in Bangladesh’s 15-man squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup. Taskin, who has also been named vice-captain, suffered a side strain in the previous series against Zimbabwe and will be treated for several weeks to restore fitness before the tournament starts next month.

The squad also features seasoned all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, who has returned to T20I cricket after a nearly year’s sabbatical. Shakib was selected for Bangladesh’s final two T20Is against Zimbabwe, and he impressed with four wickets in the fourth match.

Litton Das has also found a place in the squad despite his poor form in white-ball cricket this year.

Mustafizur Rahman leads the pace assault, which includes Shoriful Islam and Taskin. Tanzim Sakib, a bowling all-rounder, is the squad’s fourth seamer, joining Mahedi Hasan, Tanvir Islam, and Rishad Hossain as specialized spin bowlers to complement Shakib Al Hasan’s ability.

There were no significant shocks in Bangladesh’s 15-man T20 World Cup team, with youthful fast Tanzim Hasan Sakib gaining a spot following two performances against Zimbabwe.

Bangladesh squad: Najmul Hossain Shanto (c), Taskin Ahmed, Litton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Shakib Al Hasan, Tawhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah Riyad, Jaker Ali Anik, Tanvir Islam, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib.

Traveling reserves: Afif Hossain, Hasan Mahmud

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.