Khel Now logo
HomeSportsLive Score


ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 Points Table after 1st test, Bangladesh vs New Zealand 2023

Published at :December 2, 2023 at 12:10 PM
Modified at :December 13, 2023 at 3:47 PM
Post Featured Image

Saurabh Anand

Bangladesh kicked off their ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 campaign with a win over Kiwis.

The New Zealand cricket team suffered a massive loss against Bangladesh in their ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 cycle opener at Sylhet Cricket Ground. Bangladesh have dominated the Kiwis on a spin-friendly wicket and outclassed the Blackcaps by a huge margin of 150 runs. Left-arm spinner Taijul Islam picked up 6 wickets in the second innings to bundle out the Kiwis on just 181 runs. Bangladesh gave a target of 332 runs to New Zealand. 

Bangladesh jumped to second spot in the ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 points table with a dominating win in the first test of the two-match test series. They have now 12 points (100 PCT points) after the win and have placed themselves below Pakistan in the table. Pakistan after a 2-0 win over Sri Lanka in July placed themselves at the top of the ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 points table with 24 points (100 PCT points). Pakistan will be playing against Australia in the upcoming three-match Test series down under starting on 14th December. 

WTC Points table 2023-25

India are now third after Bangladesh’s win against New Zealand. India drew their first match against West Indies and won the second test match in their previous tour to the Caribbean islands in July and August. With 16 points and 66.66 PCT points. Defending champions Australia have slipped to fourth position in the points table as they have 18 out of 60 contested points in the Ashes against England. Australia have 30 PCT points in the table. New Zealand are placed 8th with zero points. 

ICC World Test Championship 2023-25 Points Table as on 2nd December, 2023. (Image Source: ICC)

South Africa will be playing their opening WTC 2023-025 cycle game against India on Boxing Day at Supersport Park Centurion. ICC World Test Championship points are determined by Points earned per test match. In a series of 2 tests, both teams will be contesting 24 points. 12 points were awarded in a win while 4 awarded in a draw. If a team earns 16 (12 after a win and 4 after a draw) their PCT points will stand at 66.66 in a 2-match test series. 

New Zealand ended the first innings with a 7-run lead after skipper Tim Southee’s (35) valiant knock in lower order. In the second innings, Bangladesh captain Najmul Hossain Shanto smashed a century to take Bangladesh to a comfortable position. Shanto’s 105-run knock allowed Bangladesh to breathe easy as they gave a mammoth 332-run target. Taijul Islam was awarded Player of the Match for his match-winning 10-wicket figures in the test match. 

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.

Trending Articles


  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2023 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.