Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

IPL 2024

IPL 2024 updated points table, Orange Cap & Purple cap after match 28 & 29 KKR vs LSG & MI vs CSK

Published at :April 14, 2024 at 11:52 PM
Modified at :April 15, 2024 at 12:00 AM
Post Featured Image

Utkarsh Rathour


KKR and CSK won their respective IPL 2024 matches on blockbuster Sunday.

Kolkata Knight Riders’ (KKR) bowler Sunil Narine’s tidy spell in the middle overs, followed by Mitchell Starc’s stunning final over, helped KKR restrict Lucknow Super Giants to 161/7 in 20 overs in match No. 28 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 on April 14.

At one stage, LSG were reduced to 111/5 inside 15 overs. However, Super Giants’ vice-captain Nicholas Pooran (45 off 32 balls) took his side above 160 runs. Earlier in the innings, Lucknow skipper KL Rahul contributed 39 runs after KKR skipper Shreyas Iyer won the toss and opted to field first at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata. For the hosts, Mitchell Starc took three wickets, while Vaibhav Arora, Sunil Narine, Varun Chakravarthy, and Andre Russell got one each.

While chasing 168, opener Phil Salt hammered a magnificent 89* runs off 47 balls, while captain Shreyas Iyer also played beautifully as he struck an unbeaten 38 to guide the hosts chase down the target with 26 balls to spare.

With ball LSG had a forgetful day as their bowlers registered figures of – Shamar Joseph (0/47), Mohsin Khan (2/29), Krunal Pandya (0/14), Yash Thakur (0/25), Arshad Khan (0/24), Ravi Bishnoi (0/17).

What happened during MI vs CSK IPL 2024 match?

In the 29th match of the IPL 2024, Mumbai Indians (MI) hosted Chennai Super Kings (CSK) at Wankhede, where the visitors wont he match by 20 runs.

After being asked to bat first, CSK posted a total of 206/4 with help of sensational knocks from captain Ruturaj Gaikwad (69), Shivam Dube (66*) and a quick-fire 20 off 4 balls from MS Dhoni.

For the hosts, Hardik Pandya, who conceded three consecutive sixes to MS Dhoni in the final over, contributed with two wickets, while Gerald Coetzee and Shreyas Gopal picked one wicket apiece.

While chasing 207, Mumbai openers Ishan Kishan and Rohit Sharma smashed 63/0 in the first six overs. In the eighth over, pacer Matheesha Pathirana provided the first breakthrough as he removed Kishan for 23 runs, then removed Suryakumar Yadav (0) in the very same over.

However, Rohit and Tilak Varma stitched a 60-run stand before Pathirana removed Tilak for 31 runs in the 14th over. Towards the end, wickets kept falling at regular intervals. Despite Rohit Sharma scoring 105*, the hosts lost the game by 20 runs.

IPL 2024 Updated Points Table:

IPL 2024 standings after match 28 and 29
IPL 2024 standings after match 28 and 29

After the end of match No. 28, Kolkata Knight Riders, who won the match by eight wickets, strengthened their position at the second spot with eight points and a positive NRR of 1.688. After suffering a crushing defeat in Kolkata, the Lucknow Super Giants slipped to fifth place with six points and a positive NRR of 0.038.

After the end of match No. 29, defending champions Chennai Super Kings are at third spot with eight points and an NRR of +0.726. After a 20-run defeat, the Mumbai Indians slipped to eighth position with four points and an NRR of -0.234.

Rajasthan Royals stay at the top with 10 points and a positive NRR of 0.767. Following LSG’s defeat, Sunrisers Hyderabad jumped to the No. 4 position with six points and a positive NRR of 0.344. Last year’s runners-up, the Gujarat Titans, are slotted at sixth spot with six points and a NRR of -0.637.

Following MI’s defeat, Punjab Kings jumped to seventh position with four points and an NRR of -0.218. Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers Bengaluru are languishing at bottom of the IPL 2024 standings.

IPL 2024: Most Runs (Orange Cap)

IPL 2024 Orange Cap leaderboard after match 28, 29
IPL 2024 Orange Cap leaderboard after match 28, 29

After the end of two exciting matches on Sunday, there is just one change in the IPL 2024 Orange Cap leaderboard. MI veteran opener Rohit Sharma, who smashed 105*, moved up to the fourth spot with 261 runs to his name.

Former RCB captain Virat Kohli stays at the top with 319 runs. RR’s middle-order batter Riyan Parag is still second with 284 runs. His teammate and RR captain Sanju Samson is slotted at third position with 264 runs. GT skipper Shubman Gill finishes the top five list with 255 runs to his name.

IPL 2024: Most Wickets (Purple Cap)

IPL 2024 Purple Cap leaderboard after match 28, 29
IPL 2024 Purple Cap leaderboard after match 28, 29

After the end of the KKR vs LSG and MI vs CSK games, Super Kings pacer Mustafizur Rahman, who took one wicket against Mumba, jumped to the third spot with 10 wickets to his name. Meanwhile, RR’s leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal remained at the top with 11 wickets to his name. MI speedster Jasprit Bumrah is slotted in second place with 10 wickets in the IPL 2024 Purple Cap leaderboard.

PBKS pacer Kagiso Rabada drop down to fourth position with nine wickets to his name. Capitals’ left-arm pacer Khaleel Ahmed finishes the top five list with nine wickets to his name.

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.