Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Oman name 15-member squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Published at :May 1, 2024 at 6:41 PM
Modified at :May 1, 2024 at 6:42 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Twitter)

Utkarsh Rathour


Oman will kick-off their ICC T20 World Cup 2024 campaign on June 3 against Namibia.

Oman have announced their initial 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024. The much-awaited tournament will be jointly hosted by the West Indies and the USA in the month of June.

Oman have named a new captain for the tournament. Aqib Ilyas has taken over the responsibilities from Zeeshan Maqsood. However, Maqsood has been named in the initial 15-man squad. Ilyas will be captaining his side for the very first time in an ICC tournament.

Soon after the announcement, the new skipper Ilyas, said that he was truly honoured by the Oman Cricket Board for giving him leadership responsibilities.

“I am truly honoured to be entrusted with the captaincy. It’s a huge responsibility, and I aim to lead the team to many victories. We are preparing rigorously for the World Cup, and the recent ACC Premier Cup has provided us with invaluable preparation,” Aqib Ilyas said.

However, the squad looks almost the same as in the recently concluded ACC Premier Cup, as eight members are included in the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024. In the fast bowling department, Bilal Khan will lead the attack along with Kaleemullah and Fayyaz Butt.

Left-arm orthodox spinner Shakeel Ahmed will lead the spin bowling attack, along with two young all-rounders, Aqib and Zeeshan. 

Batting department also looks solid as Kashyap Prajapati and Naseem Khushi will open the innings, with skipper Aqib and Zeeshan likely to bat at the No. 3 and No. 4 positions in order to maintain balance. Oman have also included wicket-keeper batters Pratik Athavale and Ayaan Khan to strengthen their lower-middle-order batting.

However, the cricket board didn’t pick two talented batters, Jatinder Singh and Samay Shrivastav. The side will open their campaign against Namibia on June 3 in Barbados. Oman are placed in Group B along with Australia, England, Namibia, and Scotland.

Oman squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024:

Aqib Ilyas (c), Zeeshan Maqsood, Kashyap Prajapati, Pratik Athavale (wk), Ayaan Khan, Shoaib Khan, Mohammad Nadeem, Naseem Khushi (wk), Mehran Khan, Bilal Khan, Rafiullah, Kaleemullah, Fayyaz Butt, Shakeel Ahmad. Reserves: Jatinder Singh, Samay Shrivastava, Sufyan Mehmood, Jay Odedra

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.