Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

PM Narendra Modi meets Indian team after heart breaking loss in IND vs AUS CWC final

Published at :November 20, 2023 at 9:30 PM
Modified at :November 20, 2023 at 9:30 PM
Post Featured Image

Karan Rawat


India suffered a heartbreaking loss in IND vs AUS CWC 2023 final at Narendra Modi Stadium.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 is finally over, and it was Australia that came out victorious and won their sixth title. Team India came so close to winning their third title but ended up on the wrong side and lost the all-important final at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. That defeat shattered the dreams of billions. Rohit Sharma and his men showed great form throughout, but when it mattered most, they couldn't.

It started with the toss. Pat Cummins won the toss and put India to bat first. India lost Shubman Gill (4) early, but Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli played a positive brand of cricket. Rohit got out for 47, followed by an early dismissal of Shreyas Iyer. Quick wickets forced India to play with a cautious approach.

PM Narendra Modi meets team India

Virat Kohli (54) and KL Rahul (60) could only help the team reach 240 runs in the final over, and the strong Indian team were dismissed. It was a below-par score, and India didn't have a score to defend. The opening bowlers tried their best and dragged Australia to 47/3 in the first seven overs. But after that, Travis Head and Marnus Labuschagne took the game away from India.

Both batters added 188 runs for the fourth wicket, sealing the deal for Australia. Head became the 7th batter to score a hundred in an ICC world cup final and registered the highest score while chasing. He made 137 off 120, with 15 fours and 4 sixes. Labuschagne remained unbeaten at 58, with four boundaries. After the defeat, Indian players could not control their emotions, which were visible on their faces. Hence, PM Narendra Modi, who attended the game, met the team and consolidated them.

Australia made 241/4 and won the final with six wickets. Virat ended up scoring a record 765 in the tournament and won the player of the tournament award. Head was the player of the match for his brilliant hundred. Notably, he also won the MOTM award in the WTC 2023 final earlier this year.