Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Wanindu Hasaranga, Matheesha Pathirana headline as Sri Lanka announce 15-man squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Published at :May 9, 2024 at 7:43 PM
Modified at :May 9, 2024 at 7:49 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Twitter)

Utkarsh Rathour


Sri Lanka will kick-off their ICC T20 World Cup 2024 campaign on June 4 against South Africa.

The Sri Lanka Cricket Board (SLC) has announced its 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024. The marquee event will be jointly hosted by the West Indies and the USA in the month of June.

Star-all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga will lead the side in the global event. Hasranga was appointed as Sri Lanka’s T20I captain in December 2023. Middle-order batter Charith Asalanka has been named as his deputy for the T20 World Cup 2024. 

Plenty of experienced names have also been included in the setup. Former white-ball skipper Dasun Shanaka, current ODI captain Kusal Mendis and current red-ball skipper Dhanajaya de Silva have been named in the 15-member line-up.

Veteran all-rounder Angelo Mathews, who returned to the T20I setup earlier this year in January has also been named in the squad for the T20 World Cup 2024. This will be the sixth T20 World Cup appearance for Mathews. The all-rounder was also part of Lanka’s victorious campaign in 2014.

In the batting department, the SLC has named Pathum Nissanka and Sadeera Samarawickrama. All-rounder Kamindu Mendis has also found a place in the 15-member line-up. In spin bowling department, Hasaranga will be supported by Maheesh Theekshana and Dunith Wellalage.

The SLC has named four star pacers for the upcoming global event. Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana and Dilshan Madushanka. Despite having injuries issues since few months, Pathirana has been included in the SL squad.

Asitha Fernando, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Janith Liyanage will be going with the squad as travelling reserves.

Sri Lanka have been put in Group D along with South Africa, Bangladesh, the Netherlands, and Nepal. The side will play their first fixture against South Africa on June 3. They will then take on arch-rivals Bangladesh on June 8. The Hasaranga-led side will then face Nepal on June 12. Their final group stage game will be on June 17 against the Netherlands.

Sri Lanka squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Wanindu Hasaranga (c), Charith Asalanka (vc), Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Kamindu Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, and Dilshan Madushanka

Traveling Reserves: Asitha Fernando, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, and Janith Liyanage.

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.