Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

IPL 2024

Top 10 cricketers to play most matches in IPL

Published at :May 12, 2024 at 4:27 PM
Modified at :May 12, 2024 at 8:04 PM
Post Featured Image

Karan Rawat


Only 10 players have played more than 200 matches in the IPL so far.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) was the first-of-its-kind tournament that was introduced back in 2008. This tournament brought the best players from across the globe together to play in one place. It was the first time that this was happening, which was the reason that the IPL became popular. So far, more than 16 seasons have taken place successfully.

But only a few managed to make a long IPL career that spanned for around 14 or 15 seasons because when all the best players play at one place, it takes a lot to play for a long time. In this article, we will talk about the top ten players who played the most matches and made the habit of performing in the IPL.

Here are the Top 10 cricketers to play most matches in IPL

10. Ambati Rayudu

Ambati Rayudu, Chennai Super Kings, Texas Super Kings
Ambati Rayudu. (Image Source: IPL)

Former Indian batter Ambati Rayudu was one of the few players to win multiple titles as a player and was part of two successful IPL franchises: Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. He made his debut for Mumbai Indians in 2010 and retired after winning the 2023 title with CSK. He played 204 games and scored 4348 runs with a best of 100 not out.

9. Robin Uthappa – 205 matches

Robin Uthappa, Gautam Gambhir
Robin Uthappa, Gautam Gambhir. (Image Source: IPL)

Robin Uthappa was another Indian player who won multiple titles with two different franchises: Kolkata Knight Riders and Chennai Super Kings. Uthappa was one of the limited players who played for six different teams. He retired in 2022 and played 205 games and scored a total of 4952 runs at an average of 27.51, with a best of 88.

8. Suresh Raina – 205 matches

Suresh Raina
Suresh Raina. (Image Source: IPL)

Suresh Raina was one of the best batters that played in the Indian Premier League. Famously known as “Mr. IPL,” Raina was one of the prime reasons for Chennai Super Kings’ success in the IPL. He still has the most runs in IPL knockout matches, which helped CSK win titles. Raina retired in 2021 after playing 205 matches. He scored 5523 runs at an average of 32.51 with a best of 100 not out.

7. Ravi Ashwin – 208 matches

Ravi Ashwin RR IPL 2024
Ravi Ashwin. (Image Source: IPL)

Veteran Indian off-spinner Ravi Ashwin has been part of the IPL since 2009. He made his debut for Chennai Super Kings and then played for four more teams after that. He is currently part of Rajasthan Royals. Ashwin recently became the 10th player to play 200 games. He has played 208 matches so far in the league, taken 176 wickets, and scored 771 runs with the bat as well.

6. Shikhar Dhawan – 222 matches

PBKS captain Shikhar Dhawan IPL 2024
Shikhar Dhawan. (Image Source: BCCI)

Veteran Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan has been part of the league since the inaugural season in 2008. He made his debut in 2008 for Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals). He also played for Mumbai Indians, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Punjab Kings. He has been a run-machine and is the second-highest scorer in the IPL. Dhawan had played 222 games and scored 6769 runs at an average of 35.25 with two centuries and 51 half-centuries.

5. Ravindra Jadeja – 239 matches

Ravindra Jadeja
Ravindra Jadeja. (Image Source: IPL)

Ravindra Jadeja is the only player in the top ten who was part of the IPL-winning team in the inaugural season when he played for Rajasthan Royals. Jadeja played his first three seasons for them and then made his debut for Chennai Super Kings in 2011, and the rest is history. Jadeja has so far played 239 games, taken 160 wickets, and also scored 2912 runs with the bat in hand.

4. Virat Kohli – 250 matches

Virat Kohli RCB IPL 2024
Virat Kohli. (Image Source: RCB)

Virat Kohli is the only player who has played all the IPL seasons for only one franchise. He made his debut in 2008 for Royal Challengers Bengaluru and is still part of the team. Over the years, he has been the best batter in the IPL and has scored the most runs and centuries in the tournament. Virat has played 250 games and scored 7924 runs at an average of 38.65 with eight hundreds.

3. Dinesh Karthik – 254 matches

Dinesh Karthik RCB IPL 2024
Dinesh Karthik. (Image Source: RCB)

Veteran wicket-keeper Dinesh Karthik is one of the few players who has been part of the IPL in all seasons. Overall, he has played for six different teams and is currently playing for Royal Challengers Bengaluru. DK has played 254 matches and scored 4817 runs at an average of 26.61. He has played for Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals), Gujarat Lions, Kolkata Knight Riders, Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings), Mumbai Indians and RCB.

2. Rohit Sharma – 256 matches

Rohit Sharma, MI, IPL 2024
Rohit Sharma. (Image Source: BCCI)

Rohit Sharma made his IPL debut for Deccan Chargers in 2008 and won the 2009 title with them. Then he joined Mumbai Indians in 2011 and became the captain in 2013. That changed the face of the franchise in the IPL. He led them to win the IPL title five times, which is the joint-most in the tournament. So far, Rohit has played 256 games and scored 6560 runs at an average of 29.54, and not to forget, he also has an IPL hat-trick to his name.

1. MS Dhoni – 263 matches

MS Dhoni CSK IPL 2024
MS Dhoni. (Image Source: IPL)

The man who changed the face of Indian cricket as a leader is also the most successful IPL captain ever. MS Dhoni has been the man who made Chennai Super Kings a force to be reckoned with. Under him, CSK made it to 10 finals, winning five of them. He led them to 12 playoffs and is the most-capped player and captain in the IPL. Dhoni has played 263 games and scored 5218 runs at 39.23 with a best of 84 not out.

(All stats updated till 12th May, 2024)

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.