Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score


Top 10 fastest double centuries (200) in ODI cricket

Published at :February 9, 2024 at 7:04 PM
Modified at :February 9, 2024 at 7:04 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : AFP/Getty Images)

Khel Now


Rohit Sharma has scored three double centuries in ODI cricket.

A hundred in any form of the game is a big feat for a cricketer but it becomes harder in limited-overs cricket when there is not much time for a batter. But over the years times have changed and a batter is going for big centuries. That is why in the last 12-13 years, ten double centuries have been scored in ODI cricket.

Sachin Tendulkar was the first player to do so but after him, seven other batsmen achieved this feat. Out of 12 double centuries, seven are scored by Indian batsmen. Rohit Sharma alone has scored three of them. However, here we will talk about the fastest double centuries in ODI cricket.

Here are the fastest double centuries in ODI cricket:

10. Rohit Sharma (151 balls) vs SL, 2017:

Rohit Sharma 208
Rohit Sharma 208 vs Sri Lanka. (Image Source: BCCI)

Rohit Sharma’s third double century came in December 2017 in Mohali against Sri Lanka when he smashed a 151-ball 200. Rohit made 208 not out from 153 balls, including 13 fours and 12 sixes. Batting first, India posted a big total of 392/4 and Sri Lanka only managed 251/8 to lose by 141 runs.

9. Rohit Sharma (151 balls) vs SL, 2014:

Rohit Sharma 264
Rohit Sharma 264 vs Sri Lanka. (Image Source: BCCI)

Two out of three double centuries for Rohit Sharma came against Sri Lanka. His first double century against Sri Lanka came in November 2014 at Eden Gardens when he smashed the highest individual score of all-time in ODIs. Rohit scored a 151-ball 200 and made 264 runs off 173 balls, including 33 fours and nine sixes. India made 404/5 and dismissed Sri Lanka for 251 to win by 153 runs.

8. Fakhar Zaman (148 balls) vs ZIM, 2018:

Fakhar Zaman 210
Fakhar Zaman 210 vs Zimbabwe. (Image Source: AFP)

Pakistan’s swashbuckling opener Fakhar Zaman is the lone player from his country to achieve this milestone. He hit a 148-ball 200 against Zimbabwe in Bulawayo in July 2018. The left-hander added 304 runs for the opening wicket with Imam-ul-Haq (133) and made 210 not out from 156 balls, with 24 fours and five sixes. Pakistan reached a big total of 399/1 and dismissed Zimbabwe for 155 runs to register a 244-run victory.

7. Sachin Tendulkar (147 balls) vs SA, 2010:

Sachin Tendulkar 200
Sachin Tendulkar 200. (Image Source: BCCI)

Sachin Tendulkar holds almost all the batting records in cricket history. He was the first player to touch the 200-run mark in an ODI innings. He did it against South Africa in February 2010 in Gwalior and made 147-ball 200. Sachin scored 200 not out from 147 balls, with 25 fours and three sixes. India scored 401/3 and South Africa were all out for 248 runs. Team India won that game by 153 runs.

6. Shubman Gill (145 balls) vs NZ, 2023:

Shubman Gill 208
Shubman Gill 208 vs New Zealand. (Image Source: BCCI)

The young Indian opener Shubman Gill smashed a 145-ball 200 against New Zealand in Hyderabad in January 2023. He scored 208 off 149 balls, with nine sixes and 19 fours where the next highest score was 31 by Suryakumar Yadav. India made 349/8 and New Zealand also reached close but fell short by 12 runs. They got dismissed for 337 runs and India won the game.

5. Virender Sehwag (140 balls) vs WI, 2011:

Virender Sehwag 219
Virender Sehwag 219 vs West Indies. (Image Source: BCCI)

Virender Sehwag was only the second batter to reach this landmark in ODI cricket. He scored his maiden ODI double ton against West Indies off just 140 balls in December 2011 in Indore. Sehwag made 219 off 149 balls, with seven sixes and 25 fours. India made a huge score of 418/5 and dismissed West Indies for 265 runs to win the game by 153 runs.

4. Chris Gayle (138 balls) vs ZIM, 2015:

Chris Gayle 215
Chris Gayle 215 vs Zimbabwe. (Image Source: Getty Images)

Chris Gayle slammed a 138-ball 200 against Zimbabwe during the 2015 World Cup in Canberra. Gayle made 215 off 147 balls, including 10 fours and 16 sixes, and added 372-run partnership for the second-wicket with Marlon Samuels (133* off 156). West Indies made 372/2 and Zimbabwe were all out for 289 runs. West Indies won that game by 73 runs (DLS method). Gayle was first ever batsman to hit a double century in ODI Cricket World Cup.

3. Pathum Nissanka (136 balls) vs AFG, 2024:

Pathum Nissanka 210
Pathum Nissanka. (Image Source: AFP)

Pathum Nissanka, who is never associated with being a power striker, holds the record for the third-fastest double hundred in the ODIs. It came recently against Afghanistan in Palleke on February 9, 2024. He smashed a 136-ball double hundred and scored an unbeaten 210 runs off 139 balls in his innings including 20 fours and eight sixes, and became the first Sri Lankan to reach the milestone.

2. Glenn Maxwell (128 balls) vs AFG, 2023:

Glenn Maxwell 201
Glenn Maxwell. (Image Source: ICC)

On 7th November, 2023, in an ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 match between Australia and Afghanistan, Afghanistan winning the toss and batting first, put up a total of 291/5 in Mumbai. During Australia’s chase, they were down to 7 wickets for just 91 runs and were looking to lose the game by a huge margin.

Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell, then smashed a double-century while struggling with cramps and spasms all over his body. Glenn Maxwell reached his 200 with a six, which was also the last shot of the game. Maxwell took 128 deliveries to reach 201*, which is the second fastest double-century (200) in the history of ODI cricket.

Glenn Maxwell smashed 21 fours and 10 sixes during his innings against Afghanistan at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

1. Ishan Kishan (126 balls) vs BAN, 2022:

Ishan Kishan
Ishan Kishan 210 vs Bangladesh. (Image Source: AP Photos)

The record for the fastest ODI double-century is registered by Ishan Kishan. The left-hander hit a 126-ball double-century against Bangladesh in December 2022 to break Chris Gayle’s 7 years old record. He made 210 runs off 131 balls, with 24 fours and ten sixes, and added 290 runs for the second wicket with Virat Kohli (113 off 91). India made 409/8 and dismissed Bangladesh for 182 runs to win by 227 runs.

(All stats updated till 9th February, 2024)

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.