Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score


Top 10 most successful captains in T20I cricket

Published at :May 13, 2024 at 7:30 PM
Modified at :May 13, 2024 at 7:31 PM
Post Featured Image

Karan Rawat


No captain has won 50 matches in T20I cricket so far.

Captaincy makes a big impact in any game, and everyone is not captaincy material. Over the years, there have been many good players who led their country but couldn’t achieve success. That is why being a captain is not always easy. Especially, in T20I cricket, because it is not easy to captain a national side in the shortest format.

This is an unexpected format of the game where no one can predict what can happen in 20 overs. But taking the team from pressure situations to a winning position is the quality of a good captain. In this article, we will talk about the most successful captains in T20I cricket.

List of Top 10 most successful captains in T20I cricket

10. Kane Williamson (New Zealand) – 37 wins

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson
New Zealand captain Kane Williamson. (Image Source: ICC)

New Zealand have not won a major T20I title, but they have been a consistent team in the last few editions of the ICC T20 World Cup. Captain Kane Williamson is one of the reasons. He leads the team from the front and also does well with the bat. Williamson has led New Zealand to 37 wins out of 71 matches he has captained, with 32 defeats, one no-result, and one tie. New Zealand played the final of the 2021 T20 World Cup under his captaincy.

9. Gerhard Erasmus (Namibia) – 38 wins:

The veteran captain of Namibia, Gerhard Erasmus, also features on this list. The veteran all-rounder has been part of the team since 2019. He became captain in the same year, and since then he has led the T20I side. Under him, Namibia have played 56 matches and won 38 of them, along with 18 defeats. Under him, Namibia have made it to all three T20 World Cup editions since 2021.

8. Ahmed Faiz (Malaysia) – 39 wins:

Ahmed Faiz has been leading Malaysia since 2019, which was his debut year. He is a born leader and also led the U19 team in 2008. So far, Ahmed has led Malaysia to 67 T20Is and won 39 matches as captain. Malaysia have lost 25 games, one game has been tied, while two ended with no results under his captaincy. Under him, Malaysia scored one of the highest T20I totals of 268.

7. Aaron Finch (Australia) – 40 wins:

Aaron Finch
Aaron Finch. (Image Source: Getty Images)

Australia have been a dominant team in ODI and test cricket, and they have all the major trophies in these formats. But it took Australia 14 years to clinch their maiden T20 World Cup title. They won the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 under the leadership of Aaron Finch. He is Australia’s most successful captain, having led them in 76 T20I matches and taken them to win 40 times, with 32 defeats, one tie, and three no-results.

6. MS Dhoni (India) – 41 wins:

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni. (Image Source: Twitter)

MS Dhoni was the first ever captain to lead a country to the T20 World Cup title in 2021. He made his captaincy debut in T20I cricket first when he led India to the inaugural season of the ICC T20 World Cup in 2007. MSD led India until 2016. Under him, India played 72 T20I matches and won 41, lost 28, tied one, and two games ended with no result.

5. Rohit Sharma (India) – 41 wins:

India T20I captain Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma. (Image Source: BCCI)

Rohit Sharma has been leading Team India in T20I cricket on and off since 2017, but he became India’s full time captain in 2021. Overall, he has led India in 54 T20I matches and won 41 of them, for an excellent win ratio of 3.416. India have only lost 12 and tied one game under him. He led India to the semi-finals of the 2021 T20 World Cup.

4. Eoin Morgan (England) – 42 wins:

Eoin Morgan
Eoin Morgan. (Image Source: ICC)

After 2015, Eoin Morgan took over England’s white-ball captaincy and led them to many successes, including the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. Even in the shortest format, he was pretty successful. He led England to 72 matches in T20I cricket and won 42 as a captain. Under him, England lost 27 games; two games were tied, and one was no result. His last game as captain was in 2022.

3. Asghar Afghan (Afghanistan) – 42 wins:

The former captain of Afghanistan, Asghar Afghan, has the third-most wins in T20I cricket. He took his country to new heights and captained the national T20I side from 2015 to 2021. Under his captaincy, Afghanistan won 42 matches out of 52 they played at a win ratio of 4.666, which is one of the best in history. Afghanistan lost only nine matches, while one game was tied under him.

2. Brian Masaba (Uganda) – 44 wins:

Brian Masaba made history when he took Uganda qualify for their first ever ICC tournament. Uganda became the 20th team to qualify for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024. Brian Masaba has been leading his country since 2021. He has led them to 44 wins out of 56 matches, along with nine defeats and three no-results, with an excellent win ratio of 4.888.

1. Babar Azam (Pakistan) – 45 wins:

Babar Azam, Pakistan, ICC Cricket World Cup 2023
Babar Azam. (Image Source: ICC)

Babar Azam is at the top of this elite list, with the most wins as a T20I captain. He has been leading Pakistan since 2019, and under him, Pakistan made it to the semi-finals of 2021 T20 World Cup and then final of the 2022 edition. He has led his country in 78 matches, winning 45 of them, along with 26 defeats and 7 no-results.

(All stats updated till 13th May, 2024)

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.




  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2024 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.