Khel Now logo
HomeSportsLive Score


Top 10 teams with most wins in T20I cricket

Published at :November 28, 2023 at 6:44 PM
Modified at :January 14, 2024 at 1:19 AM
Post Featured Image

Karan Rawat

Here we take a look at teams with most wins in the history of T20I cricket.

T20I cricket is a totally different format as compared to Tests and ODIs. It became official in 2005, and since then, it has become the most popular format among fans. Initially, it was played once in a while, but now it has become regular. Teams prefer to play T20Is more because the World Cup is played once every two years.

There are a total of 103 teams across the globe who play in this format. But which team is at the top with the most wins? In fact, there are only three teams who have won more than 100 matches in T20I cricket (as of January 2024). In this article, we will talk about the top ten teams with the most wins in T20I cricket.

Here is the list of the top ten teams with the most wins in T20I cricket.

10. Ireland – 66 wins:

Ireland Cricket Team
Ireland Cricket Team. (Image Source: ICC)

Ireland have won more matches than Bangladesh and Zimbabwe. It is because they are more active in the shorter format as compared to the other two. Ireland played their first T20I in August 2008 against Scotland. Since then, they have played 157 games and won 66 matches. Ireland have also lost 82 matches, with two ending in a tie and seven with no result.

9. Afghanistan – 76 wins:

Afghanistan Cricket Team, Champions Trophy 2025
Afghanistan Cricket Team (Image Source: ACB Official X Handle)

Afghanistan are the only team who started playing this format since 2010, but they are still in the top 10. They played their first T20I game in February 2010 against Ireland and have been an active team who play in the T20 World Cups as well. Afghanistan have won 76 matches out of 122. They have lost 44 games, and one game each ended in a tie and no result. Afghanistan have a W/L ratio of 1.727, which is the second-best among the top ten.

8. West Indies – 79 wins:

West Indies, West Indies Cricket Team
West Indies cricket team. (Image Source: AFP)

West Indies are among only two teams that have won the T20 World Cup twice in history. The Caribbean team played their first T20I match in February 2006 against New Zealand and have been playing since then. They won the T20 World Cup in 2012 and 2016 under Daren Sammy’s leadership. West Indies have so far played 189 matches, including 79 wins and 97 defeats. Three of their matches ended up in a tie, and ten matches ended without a result.

7. Sri Lanka – 79 wins:

Sri Lanka Cricket team
Sri Lanka Cricket team. (Image Source: ICC)

Sri Lanka also have a pretty decent record in T20I cricket. They made their debut in this format in June 2006 against England and were a pretty strong team in their initial years. They also won the 2014 T20 World Cup, beating India in the final. They also won the Asia Cup 2022 in T20I format. Sri Lanka have so far played 180 games and won 79 out of those. They faced defeat in 95 games, while four ended in a tie, and two ended without a result.

6. England – 94 wins:

Defending champions of the ICC T20 World Cup - England
England cricket team. (Image Source: ICC)

England were the nation that introduced the game of cricket to the world. But their first official T20I game was in June 2005 against Australia. England have won the T20 World Cup twice, in 2010 and 2022, and are a pretty strong team. They have played 182 games so far and won 94 of those.

5. Australia – 95 wins:

Australia T20I team
Australia T20I team. (Image Source: BCCI)

Australia were the team that played the first ever official T20I match in 2005. But as compared to the other two formats, Australia didn’t have the stats that they would have liked in T20I cricket. They won their maiden title in 2021 in the UAE. So far, Australia have played 182 matches, winning 95 and losing 80 of them. Three of their matches ended in a tie and four without a result.

4. South Africa – 95 wins:

South Africa T20I cricket team
South Africa. (Image Source: ICC)

South Africa have been a pretty impressive team in this format. The Proteas have not won any titles, but their record is far better than that of some world champions. South Africa played their first match in T20I format in October 2005 against New Zealand. Until now, they have played 173 matches and won 96, with 73 defeats. One game ended in a tie and three with no result.

3. New Zealand – 103 wins:

New Zealand
New Zealand. (Image Source: ICC)

New Zealand, along with Australia, were the team that played the first ever official T20I game in 2005. The Black Caps have been unfortunate that they haven’t won any major ICC titles in this format. But their overall record is pretty impressive. They became the third team to win over 100 T20Is and play more than 200 matches. New Zealand have played 203 games, winning 103 and losing 84; ten of their matches have ended in ties and six with no result.

2. Pakistan – 135 wins:

Pakistan. (Image Source: ICC)

Pakistan have been one of the best teams in the shorter format. In fact, they were the first team to win more than 100 matches in T20I cricket. The Men in Green won the 2009 T20 World Cup and ended as runners-up in the 2007 and 2022 editions. They have played a total of 226 matches and won 135, lost 82, with three tied and six no results overall.

1. India – 139 wins:

Indian cricket team T20I Nov 2023
Indian cricket team. (Image Source: BCCI)

Team India made history when they won the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007 and showed that they are one of the best teams in this format. India have won most matches in the shorter format and will be looking to strengthen their lead over the other teams. India have played 217 matches and won 139 games with an exceptional W/L ratio of 2.044, which is the highest for a test-playing nation. They have also lost 68 games; four matches ended in ties and six without any result.

(All stats updated till 11th January, 2024)

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.

Trending Articles


  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2023 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.