IPL 2023

Twitter goes crazy as MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings win 5th IPL title


May 30 2023
Twitter goes crazy as MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings win 5th IPL title

MS Dhoni now has won five IPL titles as captain of Chennai Super Kings, equaling Rohit Sharma’s record as MI captain.

The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) became the five-time IPL champions as they defeated Gujarat Titans (GT) by 5 wickets via DLS method in the IPL 2023 final at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on May 29, 2023.

The match was scheduled to take place on May 28, Sunday, but torrential rain ruined the event, forcing the crucial match to a reserve day.

MS Dhoni won the toss and decided to bowl first since he knew the Ahmedabad surface was good for chasing with the rain and dew present. The seasoned CSK keeper-batter, MS Dhoni, is leading a side for the 226th time in the IPL and playing in his 250th IPL game overall, which is a record.

Before being caught by MS Dhoni off Ravindra Jadeja, Shubman Gill had scored 39 runs and had amassed 890 runs over the course of 17 games for the IPL 2023. For the first wicket, he contributed 67 runs with Wriddhiman Saha.

Saha then hit 54 in 39 balls with his bat. Then Sai Sudharsan took over as he smacked 96 runs with 6 sixes and 8 fours in just 47 balls and looked good for a ton before getting LBW to Matheesha Pathirana in the last over.

Hardik’s 12-ball 21* took GT to a massive 214/4 in 20 overs.

Openers, Shivam Dube and Ravindra Jadeja give MS Dhoni and CSK the fifth IPL title

The CSK innings were interrupted in the first over itself, as rain came down pouring, halting the match for almost one and a half hours. When the rains stopped and the ground was made game ready, the target was revised to 171 runs in 15 overs.

Openers Devo Conway (47) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (26) gave a flying start to CSK in the revised four overs of playoffs. After Noor Ahmad got their wickets, Shivam Dube took some time to get going, and hence Ajinkya Rahane (27 in 13) kept CSK in the game. But then Shivam Dube changed the game in the last few overs, hitting Rashid Khan for two sixes in the last two balls of the 12th over.

Mohit Sharma then hit big in the 13th over after being hit for 2 sixes and one four but removed Rayudu (19 in 8 balls) and MS Dhoni for a golden duck.

It all came to 14 runs in 6 balls and Mohit bowled 4 good balls to give 4 runs but was hit for a six and four off the last two by Ravindra Jadeja, as CSK won by 5 wickets via DLS method and became the 5-time champions.

The Twitterverse went crazy after CSK’s win and here are some of the best tweets.:

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube and join our community on Telegram.