Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

ICC T20 World Cup 2024

'Welcome Back,' Twitter hails selectors' decision to include Yuzvendra Chahal in ICC T20 World Cup 2024 squad

Published at :April 30, 2024 at 5:27 PM
Modified at :April 30, 2024 at 5:27 PM
Post Featured Image

Utkarsh Rathour


Yuzvendra Chahal has picked up 96 wickets in T20I cricket for India till now.

In a huge call taken by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), India’s highest T20I wicket-taker Yuzvendra Chahal, has been included in the 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024. The marquee event will be played in the Caribbean Islands and the USA in June 2024.

Yuzvendra Chahal is recognized as one of the best leg-spinners for India. He is also the leading wicket taker in the Indian Premier League (IPL) till now.

In T20Is, Chahal has played 80 matches and has 96 wickets to his name till now. He has also picked up a six-wicket haul in the shortest format while playing for India. The leg-spinner last played a T20I in August 2023 against the West Indies. Since then, Chahal hasn’t played any games for the Men in Blue in the shortest format.

In the ongoing IPL 2024, Chahal became the first bowler in the history of the league to complete 200 wickets. In nine matches till now, the wily leg-spinner has picked 13 wickets. His outstanding performance with the ball is one of the main reasons why Rajasthan Royals (RR) are the table-toppers in the ongoing 17th edition of the IPL.

It is to be noted that the 33-year-old was picked up for the T20 World Cup 2022 but didn’t get any games as Ravichandran Ashwin was part of the playing XI in the whole tournament.

Chahal was also excluded from the ODI World Cup 2023 squad after performing superbly in the IPL 2023 edition. Earlier, few reports emerged that Chahal might be once again left out of the T20 World Cup 2024 squad. However, the BCCI selectors included him as the main spinner along with Kuldeep Yadav.

Both the frontline spinners will be supported by two spin-bowling all-rounders Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel, who also have been named in the 15-man squad. Soon after the announcement, cricketing world erupted as they hailed BCCI’s decision for including Chahal for the upcoming T20 World Cup.

Here are some of the reactions:

Indian squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Hardik Pandya (Vice Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj.

Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.