Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

2022 FIFA World Cup

Belgium announces 26-man squad for 2022 FIFA World Cup

Published at :November 10, 2022 at 11:14 PM
Modified at :November 10, 2022 at 11:47 PM
Post Featured Image

rajarshi shukla

Roberto Martinez will take his last attempt to win a major trophy with the nation

Despite being global number one until 2021, Belgium has yet to scoop a significant international prize despite possessing players like Hazard, De Bruyne, and Lukaku. Belgium is among the dark horses in the 2022 World Cup, and despite their golden generation status, they have fallen short of expectations.

Belgium have underperformed in recent matches and does not intend to carry that form into the World Cup, where they will make their 13th appearance. Their best run came in the 2018 World Cup when they finished third, losing to France 1-0 in the semifinal.  

And this will be Roberto Martinez's final attempt; quite so many prominent stars, like Thibaut Courtois, Jan Vertonghen, Kevin De Bruyne, Romelu Lukaku, and captain Eden Hazard, will retire after the tournament.

Roberto Martinez has assembled a strong side for the World Cup, and will be confident this time around. Belgium are in Group F with Canada, Croatia, and Morocco, and will fancy their possibilities of finishing first.

On November 24, they will play their first World Cup match against Canada. And the squad of 26 players who will compete in the World Cup is named below.

Belgium 26-man Squad

Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois (Real madrid), Simon Mignolet (Club Brugge), Koen Casteels (VfL Wolfsburg).

Defenders: Jan Vertonghen (Anderlecht), Toby Alderweireld (Royal Antwerp), Leander Dendoncker (Aston Villa ), Zeno Debast (Anderlecht), Arthur Theate (Rennes), Wout Faes (Anderlecht).

Midfielders: Hans Vanaken (Club Brugge), Axel Witsel (Atletico Madrid), Youri Tielemans (Leicester), Amadou Onana (Everton), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Yannick Carrasco (Atletico Madrid), Thorgan Hazard (Borussia Dortmund), Timothy Castagne (Leicester City), Thomas Meunier (Borussia Dortmund).

Forwards: Romelu Lukaku (Inter Milan), Michy Batshuayi (Fenerbahce), Loïs Openda (Lens), Charles De Ketelaere (AC Milan), Eden Hazard (Real Madrid), Jeremy Doku (Rennes), Dries Mertens (Galatasaray), Leandro Trossard (Brighton).