Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

2022 FIFA World Cup

Spain announces squad for 2022 FIFA World Cup

Published at :November 11, 2022 at 11:14 PM
Modified at :November 11, 2022 at 11:37 PM
Post Featured Image

rajarshi shukla

Luis Enrique will be looking to bring the glory days back

After a long conundrum, Luis Enrique has finally chosen his ideal 26-man roster for the World Cup, and Spain will have a reservoir of quality to draw from. They will compete in their 12th World Cup, having last won it in 2010.

They were eliminated in penalties by host Russia in the 2018 World Cup, with the drama surrounding them as Spain manager Julen Lopetegui, who was expected to take over the national squad in the 2018 World Cup, signed a pre-contract with Real Madrid.

Madrid informed Spain, prompting the dramatic dismissal of Julen Lopetegui prior to the 2018 World Cup match. Spain Sporting Director Fernando Hierro assumed the position and guided them to the round of 16 before being knocked out by Russia.

The La Roja are in Group E, which also features Germany, the 2014 World Cup winner, Japan, and Costa Rica. Spain will be led by new manager Luis Enrique, who led Spain to the Euro 2020 semi-finals in his first big tournament as manager, followed by the Nations League final.

This implies that Enrique has done an excellent job and has shown significant promise as manager. The former Barcelona manager has a successful track record with the national squad and outstanding players.

Spain will begin their World Cup campaign on November 23rd against Costa Rica, but first, they will play a friendly encounter against Jordan on November 17th to whittle things down.

Spain 26-man World Cup squad

Goalkeepers: Unai Simon (Athletic Club), Robert Sanchez (Brighton), David Raya (Brentford)

Defenders: Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Eric Garcia (Barcelona), Hugo Guillamon (Valencia), Pau Torres (Villarreal), Aymeric Laporte (Manchester City), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Jose Gaya (Valencia)

Midfielders: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Rodrigo (Manchester City), Gavi (Barcelona), Carlos Soler (Valencia), Marcos Llorente (Atletico Madrid), Pedri (Barcelona), Koke (Atletico Madrid)

Forwards: Ferran Torres (Barcelona), Nico Williams (Athletic Club), Yeremy Pino (Villarreal), Alvaro Morata (Atletico Madrid), Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), Pablo Sarabia (PSG), Dani Olmo (Leipzig), Ansu Fati (Barcelona)