Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

2022 FIFA World Cup

USA announces 26-man squad for 2022 FIFA World Cup

Published at :November 10, 2022 at 3:58 PM
Modified at :November 10, 2022 at 5:38 PM
Post Featured Image

rajarshi shukla

The nation have made 11 appearances on football's grandest stage

After missing out on the 2018 World Cup, the United States will compete in the 2022 World Cup following a strong qualification campaign. And Gregg Berhalter has chosen his ideal men to represent the United States in the World Cup; many familiar names were unable to participate, but others who have been picked up will ensure that the United States remains a contender to be reckoned with.

Berhalter remained perplexed in selecting 26 players as the United States looks to advance from the group that includes England, Wales, and Iran.

The United States' best World Cup performance was in 1930, when they reached the semi-finals, and they have appeared in 11 World Cups.

With their subpar squad, they were unable to reach such heights in the tournament and did not qualify for the 2018 World Cup. With a strong roster capable of competing against any nation United States intend to make reparations this time by reaching the later stages of the event.

Gregg Berhalter already has some excellent players at his disposal and many young players have been given a chance when their names were included in the USA's 26-man team.

Note: USA 26-man squad is the second youngest team in World Cup, averaging 25 years and 175 days.

Here is the official USA 26-man squad for 2022 World Cup.

Goalkeepers: Ethan Horvath (Luton Town), Sean Johnson (New York City FC), Matt Turner (Arsenal).

Defenders:  Cameron Carter-Vickers (Celtic), Sergino Dest (AC Milan), Aaron Long (New York Red Bulls), Shaq Moore (Nashville SC), Tim Ream (Fulham), Antonee Robinson (Fulham), Joe Scally (Borussia Mönchengladbach), DeAndre Yedlin (Inter Miami), Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC).

Midfielders: Brenden Aaronson (Leeds United), Kellyn Acosta (Los Angeles FC), Tyler Adams (Leeds United), Luca de ka Torre (Celta de Vigo), Weston McKennie (Juventus), Yunus Musah (Valencia), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders).

Forwards: Jesus Ferreira (FC Dallas), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders), Christian Pulisic (Chelsea), Gio Reyna (Borussia Dortmund), Josh Sargent (Norwich City), Tim Weah (Lille), Haji Wright (Antalyaspor).