These players are likely to contest for the title of the top scorer.

The Indian Super League 2022-23 season is shaping up to be incredibly entertaining. As of 4 December 2022, the league has seen many goals and an attacking brand of football from respective football clubs. The quality in the final third across the board is sensational this term with several attackers scoring goals for their teams.

Players like Jorge Pereyra Diaz, who has previous experience with the ISL, and newcomers like Dimitri Petratos are setting the stage alight. These individuals and more will undoubtedly aim to finish as the tournament’s top scorer by the end of the season. 

To that end, here is a look at the top five favourites to win the Golden Boot award in the 2022-23 seasons of the ISL:

5. Bartholomew Ogbeche

Bartholomew Ogbeche is the all-time leading goalscorer in the Indian Super League. He has 55 goals in 86 appearances (as of 4 December 2022) and will likely add more to his tally. In the 2022-23 campaign, however, his goalscoring form is absent. 

Bartholomew Owogbalor Ogbeche is an all-time leading goalscorer in ISL. (Courtesy – ISL Media)

Despite a dry start to the season where the Nigerian has two goals in the first nine matches, one would be erroneous to underestimate him. He managed 18 goals last season, walking away with the Golden Boot award. All in all, HFC is less dependent on Ogbeche for goals this year, it is a matter of time before he starts scoring too.

4. Cleiton Silva

East Bengal FC is showing a better performance this year and much of the credit goes to their frontman, Cleiton Silva. The former Bengaluru FC forward is a significant player for the Red & Gold Brigade and leads the attacking line by example. 

He has five goals in eight appearances and it would not come as a surprise if he goes on to score more in forthcoming matches. But the biggest factor in Silva’s rich vein of form is his prior experience with ISL and Stephen Constantine’s trust in him. His arrival at the club this year could be vital to an improved performance to last year’s bottom-place finish.

3. Abdenasser El Khayati

Abdenasser El Khayati is one of the outstanding performers for Chennaiyin FC after the initial round of matches. Another newcomer to the ISL, the attacking midfielder has caught the eye with his eye for goal and quality in the final third.

In the first five appearances for CFC, he already has four goals. If he remains consistent, then Khayati will have a great chance of winning the Golden Boot award. 

2. Dimitri Petratos

Dimitri Petratos has huge boots to fill as ATK Mohun Bagan’s striker after the departure of Roy Krishna. He is one of the foreigners who are new to the ISL. Despite the new surroundings, the striker has adapted well and scored four goals in his first seven appearances for the Mariners.

The 30-year-old also has five assists at the same time, which only further showcases his contribution to the team. Winning the Golden Boot award would be a huge statement by the 30-year-old who already has a hat trick for ATKMB in the ISL.

1. Jorge Pereyra Diaz

Jorge Pereyra Diaz is a strong favourite to win the Golden Boot award in the 2022-23 season of the Indian Super League. He joined Mumbai City FC this year after playing his debut campaign with Kerala Blasters FC the last term during which the striker had eight goals. 

Jorge Pereyra Diaz has scored six goals in nine matches. (Courtesy – ISL Media)

The Islanders and Diaz are shaping up to be a dangerous recipe for the rest of the competitors. In the first nine outings, he already has six goals for the club. He is displaying a brilliant goalscoring touch this year and has a huge chance of winning the Golden Boot by the end.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube and join our community on Telegram.