Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

2022 FIFA World Cup

Nations that have won consecutive FIFA World Cup titles

Published at :December 16, 2022 at 1:53 AM
Modified at :December 13, 2023 at 1:01 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : FIFA)

rajarshi shukla

France will have a chance to join this elite list when they meet Argentina in the 2022 FIFA World Cup final.

Winning a World Cup is the highest achievement a national football team can make in the game. Only a few nations have achieved this honour. Brazil are the only nation to have won it five times; Germany and Italy have each won four times, while Argentina, Uruguay, and France have each won the World Cup twice. These nations have always been a dominant force in major tournaments, although few have won it two times in a row.

Although many of them reached successive finals, they were unable to retain their titles for the second time. Just two nations have reached and won successive World Cup finals in history. In this article, we will discuss nations that have won consecutive World Cups.

Italy – 1934, 1938

Italy are one of the most accomplished countries in World Cup annals, having won it four times, one less than Brazil. The Azzurri have competed in 18 of the 22 World Cups editions, reaching the finals six times. Their last victory was in 2006, and they last appeared in 2014. since then, Italy have failed to qualify for the 2018 and 2022 World Cups.

Following their debut in the 1934 World Cup, the Italians became the first nation to win the World Cup two times in a row. They won the cup in Rome, defeating Czechoslovakia 2-1 in the final. Italy then retained the title in 1938, reaching the final in France and defeating Hungary 4-2 to emerge the first nation to successfully retain football's most famous prize under then-manager Vittorio Pozzo.

Brazil – 1958, 1962

This accomplishment was later achieved by South American powerhouse Brazil, driven by youngster Pele and outstanding Garrincha. The Selecao defeated host Sweden 5-2 in the final and successfully defended the cup in 1962, defeating Czechoslovakia 2-1, with Pele once again being the protagonist of the match.

When it comes to the World Cup, no team can equal Brazil's dominance. With seven finals and five victories, they remain the squad with the highest prestige in this major event, having never missed a World Cup tournament.