Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

Indian Football

Who won the 2023 FPAI Indian Football Awards?

Published at :May 14, 2023 at 11:59 PM
Modified at :May 15, 2023 at 12:02 AM
Post Featured Image

Alen Philip Mathew

Mumbai City dominated the charts yet again.

The FPAI Indian Football Awards 2023 celebrated the excellence of various footballers in India. The ceremony was held at Paljor Stadium in Gangtok, Sikkim on Saturday, May 13 and the winners were selected by a jury panel comprising former Indian footballers, coaches, and journalists.

The awards recognized the contributions made by players and coaches in the 2022-23 season. About 400 registered players participated in this vote. The event was co-organized by Football Development Private Limited (FDPL) and Sikkim Football Players Association (FPAS).

Women's Category

The women's category saw some exceptional performances from various players, and Dangmei Grace was awarded the Player of the Year award for her outstanding outings. The 27-year-old Manipuri footballer plays as a forward for the Indian national team. Her skills, speed, and dribbling abilities have made her a feared opponent on the field.

The award for Young Player of the Year was given to Naketa Bishnoi, who stands out for her skills. A promising talent in Indian football, Bishnoi's performances in the Junior Women's National Championship have been impressive.

Men's Category

In the men's category, Lallianzuala Chhangte won the Player of the Year award. The 25-year-old plays as a forward for Mumbai City FC and has made remarkable contributions to the team in the Indian Super League. His speed, control, and stamina on the field are his standout qualities. Lallianzuala Chhangte also picked up the 'Hero of the League' award from the Indian Super League.

The award for Young Player of the Year went to Sivasakthi Narayanan, who had been exceptional in the Bengaluru FC team. The 22-year-old midfielder was instrumental in the team's success in the ISL and is a considerable force on the field. Sivasakthi Narayanan also secured the Emerging Player of the League award in the ISL. He had six goals and three assists to his account this season.

The award for Foreign Player of the Year was given to Greg Stewart, who plays as a forward for Mumbai City FC. The 33-year-old Scottish player made an outstanding contribution to his team in the Indian Super League 2022-23 season. He scored eight goals and provided eight assists for the side and played a key role in their League Winners' Shield victory.


Finally, the Coach of the Year award was presented to Des Buckingham, who served as the head coach of Mumbai City FC in the Indian Super League. His remarkable work with the team helped improve their results and boosted their morale.

Guests included Sri Aditya Gorai (MLA), Chunchun Bhutia, Chairman of Sikkim Football Association, and Bhaichung Bhutia, former Founding Chairman of FPAI. Many dignitaries in attendance were also congratulated and presented with mementos in recognition of their support and contribution to Indian football.

These players' achievements have been phenomenal in the 2022-2023 season, and their performances will inspire a new generation of footballers in India. The FPAI Indian Football Awards have rightly recognized their contribution to the game and honoured them for their hard work and dedication.