FIFA U-17 World Cup

FIFA U17 World Cup: List of all winners

Aditya ChauhanAditya Chauhan

November 10 2023
FIFA U17 World Cup winners

The FIFA U17 World Cup will be played for the 19th time in 2023

The FIFA U17 World Cup is all set to start in Indonesia for the 19th time in the tournament history. 24 teams from all across the globe will compete for the prestigious title.

The competition was held for the first time in 1985. This tournament was initially started for the U-16 age group and was later changed to the U-17 category in 1991. The first edition was staged in 1985 in China, and tournaments have been played every two years since then.

Nigeria has been the most dominant nation in the U-17 category. The nation from Africa has won five titles, with the first coming in the inaugural competition. Brazil sits in second place with four titles and is the defending champions heading into the 2023 edition.

Ghana and Mexico have won the FIFA U17 World Cup twice in their history. France, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Switzerland and England have one title to their name.

Spain is the most unlucky nation as they have lost four U17 World Cup finals.

The last edition of the FIFA U17 World Cup was held in Brazil. The home team took full advantage of the home conditions and lifted the World Cup.

At the end of the tournament, four other awards are also presented. The Golden Ball (most valuable player), the Golden Boot (top goalscorer), the Golden Glove (most valuable goalkeeper) and the FIFA Fair Play Trophy (team with the best disciplinary record).

Here is a look at the list of all winners.

FIFA U17 World Cup: Winners

Nigeria – 1985Soviet Union – 1987Saudi Arabia – 1989Ghana – 1991Nigeria – 1993Ghana – 1995Brazil – 1997Brazil – 1999France – 2001Brazil – 2003Mexico – 2005Nigeria – 2007Switzerland – 2009Mexico – 2011Nigeria – 2013Nigeria – 2015England – 2017Brazil – 2019

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.