Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

I-League 2nd Division

I-League 2 to kick off on January 20

Published at :January 5, 2024 at 5:44 PM
Modified at :January 13, 2024 at 11:29 AM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : AIFF Media)

Khel Now

The I-League 2nd Division will see the top two teams qualify for the I-League 2024-25.

The 2023-24 I-League 2, featuring eight teams, is set to begin on Saturday, January 20, 2024. The league will be played on a home-and-away basis in a double round-robin format, with the top two teams being promoted to the 2024-25 I-League and the bottom two to be relegated to the 2024-25 I-League 3.

The eight teams include two clubs relegated from the 2022-23 I-League (Mumbai Kenkre FC and Sudeva Delhi FC), three teams included from the 2022-23 I-League 2 Final Round (FC Bengaluru United, United SC and The Oranje FC, formerly known as Ambernath United Atlanta FC) and three teams qualified from the 2024-25 I-League 3 (Sporting Clube de Goa, Dempo SC and Sporting Club Bengaluru).

Sporting Clube de Goa, who became the inaugural champions of the I-League 3 after finishing atop the Playoffs at the end of last year, are back on the national stage after a gap of seven years. They were joined by five-time I-League/NFL champions Dempo SC and Sporting Club Bengaluru, who finished second and third, respectively.

The I-League 2 will take a 40-day gap between February 12 and March 23 to accommodate the Santosh Trophy Final Round. The league will run until the last week of April.

AIFF Acting Secretary General Mr Satyanarayan M said, “The AIFF had a meeting with the eight I-League 2 teams and we agreed to have a gap in between for the Santosh Trophy. It will be a great competitive league on a home-and-away basis, which will be good for all teams.”

The eight participating teams in the 2023-24 I-League 2:

FC Bengaluru United (Dravid and Padukone COE, Bengaluru)

Dempo SC (Ella Ground, Goa)

Mumbai Kenkre FC (COE Khargar, Mumbai)

Sporting Club Bengaluru (Bangalore Football Stadium, Bengaluru)

Sporting Clube de Goa (Tilak Maidan, Goa)

Sudeva Delhi FC (Ambedkar Stadium, New Delhi)

The Oranje FC (COE Khargar, Mumbai)

United SC (Kalyani Stadium, Kalyani)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram.