Khel Now logo
HomeSportsLive Score

AFC Women's Asian Cup

All you need to know about 2022 AFC Women's Asian Cup

Published at :January 14, 2022 at 1:24 AM
Modified at :February 12, 2022 at 11:54 PM
Post Featured Image

Yash Pratap Singh

The 20th edition of the tournament will begin on January 20.

Asia’s premier women’s championship returns for its 20th edition and will be hosted by two-time runners-up India. The AFC Women's Asian Cup 2022 will kick-off on January 20 in Mumbai, while the final will take place on February 6 in Navi Mumbai.

Japan are the defending champions and will be keen to win the championship for the third time in a row. But, an increase in the number of participating nations means it’s not going to be an easy piece of work for the champions.

The tournament was scheduled to take place in 2021, but was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Nevertheless, it's back and will be played inside a bio-secure bubble in Maharashtra.

On that note, here’s all you need to know about the 2022 AFC Women’s Asian Cup.

[KH_ADWORDS type="4" align="center"][/KH_ADWORDS]

About the Tournament

The AFC Women's Asian Cup is Asia's top international competition in women's football for national teams which belong to the Asian Football Confederation (AFC). The tournament will see a major change, as the number of participating teams have been increased from eight to 12. It will also decide Asia’s representatives at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup. Five teams will gain direct qualification, while two of them will progress to the inter-confederation playoffs.

China PR are the most successful team in the tournament's history and have won the championship a record eight times. Chinese Taipei and North Korea share the tag of being the second-most successful teams and have won the trophy thrice followed by Japan, who’ve won two successive titles.

The 2022 AFC Women’s Asian Cup will be the 20th edition of the tournament and will take place in India for the first time after 1979.


The tournament will be played behind closed doors across three venues in Maharashtra. The matches will be played at:

  • Mumbai Football Arena, Mumbai
  • DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai
  • Shree Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex, Pune

Participating Teams in AFC Women's Asian Cup 2022

Group A

India (H), China PR, Chinese Taipei, Iran.

Group B

Australia, Thailand, Philippines, Indonesia.

Group C

Japan, South Korea, Vietnam, Myanmar.

[KH_ADWORDS type="3" align="center"][/KH_ADWORDS]


Group A

January 20: China PR 4-0 Chinese Taipei, Match Report

January 20: India 0-0 Iran, Match Report

January 23: Iran 7-0 China PR

January 23: Chinese Taipei vs India - Match Cancelled

January 26: India vs China PR - Match Cancelled

January 26: Chinese Taipei 5-0 Iran

Group B

January 21: Australia 18-0 Indonesia, Match Report

January 21: Thailand 1-0 Philippines, Match Report

January 24: Philippines 0-4 Australia

January 24: Indonesia 0-4 Thailand

January 27: Australia 2-1 Thailand

January 27: Philippines 6-0 Indonesia

Group C

January 21: Japan 5-0 Myanmar, Match Report

January 21: South Korea 3-0 Vietnam, Match Report

January 24: Myanmar 0-2 South Korea

January 24: Vietnam 0-3 Japan

January 27: Japan 1-1 South Korea

January 27: Vietnam 2-2 Myanmar

[KH_ADWORDS type="2" align="center"][/KH_ADWORDS]


January 30: Australia 0-1 South Korea

January 30: Japan 7-0 Thailand

January 30: China 3-1 Vietnam

January 30: Chinese Taipei (3) 1-1 (4) Philippines

Semi finals

February 3: South Korea 2-0 Phillipines

February 3: China (4) 2-2 (3) Japan



February 6

China 3-2 South Korea, Match Report

Prize Money

Winners: $1 MillionRunners Up: $500,000Losing Semi-finalists: $150,000


The Championship’s broadcasting rights have been brought by Eurosport India of Discovery Network and Jio TV. Eurosport India will telecast the tournament on television and the Discovery+ app, while Jio TV will stream the matches on its app.

Notable Highlights

The AFC Women's Asian Cup 2022 will witness the historic debut of the high-profile Visual Assistant Referee (VAR) in India. It will make its tournament debut from the knockout stages starting from January 30.

For more football updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and join our community on Telegram.


  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2023 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.