A total of 11 teams will contest in the competition.

The first-ever “Delhi Premier League” will commence at the Ambedkar Stadium on Friday, 15th July. A history in the making – for the first time, the league will be played in a double-round robin format with all 11 teams playing 20 matches each.

A total of 110 matches will be played over the duration of more than two months. The Delhi Premier League will have a record prize money of Rs 7 lakh in its inaugural edition.

All the matches in the league are set to be held at two venues – Ambedkar Stadium and Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium. The clubs that are part of the Delhi Premier League are Delhi FC, Hindustan FC, Royal Rangers FC, Friends United FC, Garhwal FC, Tarun Sangha FC, Rangers SC, Sudeva Delhi FC, Uttarakhand FC, Indian Air Force & Vatika FC.

For the first time ever Football Delhi opened a direct entry route for a new club to be part of a top-tier league. Thus, through a bidding process, Vatika FC has joined the Premier League.

Football Delhi President Shaji Prabhakaran said, “Football Delhi in its endeavour to improve the competitive structure of football in Delhi is launching the Premier League and we increasing the number of matches for each team from 10 to 20 in the top tier league is testimony to our resolve to provide better competitive environment for players in our system.”

He further added, “Clubs participating in the Delhi Premier League will be playing a vital role in taking Delhi’s football forward and more of our clubs from Delhi will be seen competing at the top leagues of India in the coming seasons.”

The partners for the league are Axis Bank, Kingfisher, Vector X, Sports Authority of India, Khelo India, Sportscast India, ITCombine, Hero & A+ OSM.

The league organization sub-committee includes Rizwan Ul Haq (Chairperson), Anand Dabas (Convener), Hafiz Shahid, Ram Singh, Maroof Khan, SB Saha, Mohd Sajid, Sunil Dutt & Sultan Singh Rawat.

The opening match of the league will be played at the Ambedkar Stadium at 4:15 PM between Hindustan FC, runner ups of the Football Delhi Senior Division 2021-22 and Vatika FC, the newly entered club in the league.

All the matches of the league will be broadcasted live on SportsCast India’s Youtube Channel.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube and join our community on Telegram.