The young Tigreses begin their campaign against USA in the tournament opener on October 11.

India U-17 national women’s team head coach Thomas Dennerby today, Wednesday, October 5, 2022, announced his squad of 21 players for the FIFA U-17 World Cup 2022 scheduled to begin next week.

India have been drawn in Group A alongside USA, Morocco and Brazil. They will face USA on October 11, followed by Morocco and Brazil on October 14 and October 17, respectively, at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar.

“It’s a new situation for everyone. India have never played the World Cup before. This is a different ball game altogether. It’s a unique chance to show everyone that we have prepared well and will not allow anyone to run over us. Everyone wants to play the World Cup, but I can only select the best 21 in the squad,” Coach Dennerby said.

“When you are on the field, everything is held back behind and you just have to focus on the game. That’s what the girls need to do. We are not going into the tournament as the favourites. I believe the pressure then is on the opponents,” said the Swedish coach.

Pointing out the importance of performing well on the pitch, Dennerby said: “The performance is key for us. And I hope the girls are not much nervous and will play with confidence. You can’t be nervous and perform at the same time. It’s time to get the ball rolling.”

India U-17 women’s team squad for FIFA U-17 World Cup

GOALKEEPERS: Monalisha Devi Moirangthem (1), Melody Chanu Keisham (13), Anjali Munda (21)
DEFENDERS: Astam Oraon (5),Kajal (20), Naketa (3), Purnima Kumari (2), Varshika (19), Shilky Devi Hemam (4)
MIDFIELDERS: Babina Devi Lisham (6), Nitu Linda (17), Shailja (15), Shubhangi Singh (16)
FORWARDS: Anita Kumari (11), Lynda Kom Serto (9), Neha (7), Rejiya Devi Laishram (18), Shelia Devi Loktongbam (12), Kajol Hubert Dsouza (8), Lavanya Upadhyay (10), Sudha Ankita Tirkey (14)

India’s fixtures in FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup

Following are India’s fixtures in Group A of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup 2022:
11 October: Ind vs USA (8 pm IST, Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar)
14 October: Ind vs Morocco (8 pm IST, Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar)
17 October: Brazil vs Ind (8 pm IST, Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneswar)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube and join our community on Telegram.