These names are part of a very exclusive club

The World Cup is a trophy every player dreams of having in his trophy cabinet at the end of his career. There is no greater joy than winning the cup for the country and giving endless joy to their countrymen. 

In pressure competitions like the World Cup, captains are the ones who lead the ship, and everyone looks up to them. The Uruguayans were the first to lift this prestigious trophy under Jose Nasazzi’s leadership. There have been some brilliant leaders in the illustrious history of the World Cup, such as Philipp Lahm, Iker Casillas, Cafu, and many others who led their teams to glory. 

In contrast, some legendary captains such as Johan Cruyff, Oliver Kahn and Ruud Gullit failed to win this competition, illustrating how ruthless World Cups can be. Even though there have been big captains at World Cups, there has never been a captain who has won the World Cup twice.

Now that the World Cup 2022 is just around the corner, many captains like Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Neymar will be battling it out for this prestigious trophy and the chance to add their names to the elite list of captains that have won the World Cup.

Today we come with the collections of World Cup-winning captains who achieved their dreams successfully. There are 22 winning captains to claim the glory of the World Cup. 

Also Read: FIFA World Cup: List of all Golden Ball winners

World Cup Winning Captains

  • 1930 – Jose Nasazzi (Uruguay)
  • 1934 – Gianpiero Combi (Italy)
  • 1938 – Giuseppe Meazza (Italy)
  • 1950 – Obdulio Varela (Uruguay)
  • 1954 – Fritz Walter (West Germany)
  • 1958 – Hilderaldo Bellini (Brazil)
  • 1962 – Mauro Ramos (Brazil)
  • 1966 – Bobby Moore (England)
  • 1970 – Carlos Alberto (Brazil)
  • 1974 – Franz Beckenbauer (West Germany)
  • 1978 – Daniel Passarella (Argentina)
  • 1982 – Dino Zoff  (Italy)
  • 1986 – Diego Maradona (Argentina)
  • 1990 – Lothar Matthaus (West Germany)
  • 1994 – Dunga Carlos (Brazil) 
  • 1998 –  Didier Deschamps (France)
  • 2002 – Cafu (Brazil)
  • 2006 – Fabio Cannavaro (Italy)
  • 2010 – Iker Casillas (Spain)
  •  2014 – Philipp Lahm (Germany) 
  • 2018 –  Hugo Lloris (France)
  • 2022- Lionel Messi (Argentina)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.