Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

Goa Pro League

Goa Professional League 2023-24: Team of the Season

Published at :May 8, 2024 at 3:04 PM
Modified at :May 8, 2024 at 3:04 PM
Post Featured Image

Atawaris Warsi

Some of Sporting Club de Goa & Dempo SC players had an outstanding season

Goa Professional League 2023-24 saw Sporting Club de Goa emerge victorious this season, securing their seventh title after a tense final match against Pax of Nagoa. Despite SESA’s impressive 8-0 victory over Young Boys of Tonca on the final day, it wasn’t enough to clinch the title as they fell just one point short. 

The season saw exceptional individual performances that fueled the competition and showcased Goan football’s talent. These players, through goals, defensive brilliance, and midfield control, not only enthralled fans but also elevated the league’s quality. Their dedication embodies the captivating spirit that defines football. 

Several individuals played key roles for their respective clubs and hence, found their way into Khel Now’s Team of the Season:

Formation – 3-4-2-1

GK – Abhimanyu Singh (Sporting Club de Goa)

Sporting Goa’s defence, spearheaded by 23-year-old keeper Abhimanyu Singh, was the bedrock of their championship run. Singh’s stingy performance, including a crucial penalty save against Churchill Brothers, conceded a league-low 16 goals and secured vital points, possibly the title itself, over SESA. 

LCB – Faseen PK (Dempo SC)

Throughout the season, Faseen embodied an impenetrable wall, showcasing defensive prowess and netting four goals in the league. His leadership at the back ensured solidity and stability for the team, but he couldn’t secure the Goa Pro League title, with the team finishing third. Faseen’s defensive prowess and unexpected goal-scoring abilities highlighted his multifaceted contribution.

CB – Myron Fernandes (Sporting Club de Goa)

The league champions hold the record for conceding the fewest goals, a feat credited to Myron Fernandes, who played a pivotal role in this achievement. His defensive skills and leadership were instrumental in ensuring that the team maintained a solid defensive record throughout the season. 

RCB – Pratik Naik (Dempo SC)

Pratik’s partnership with Faseen formed an impenetrable wall in defence, reminiscent of a formidable fortress. In addition to their defensive solidity, Pratik also showcased his attacking prowess by scoring four goals throughout the season. Their combined efforts not only thwarted opposition attacks but also contributed significantly to the team’s offensive capabilities. 

LM – Thokchom Beckham Singh (Dempo SC)

Beckham’s knack for exploiting the left flank and uncovering spaces ahead was a spectacle to behold and a cornerstone of SESA’s attacking approach. His dynamic presence on the field made him a pivotal figure for the team, providing width and ingenuity down the left side. Beckham’s capacity to stretch defences and create scoring opportunities added a crucial dimension to SESA’s offensive tactics.

CM – Abelson Jachi (Geno Sports Club)

Geno’s Abelson was a revelation. Primarily a forward, he displayed incredible versatility, dictating the midfield tempo when needed and dropping deep to receive the ball and disrupt the opposition’s press. His six goals speak for themselves, but his impact goes beyond. He was instrumental in Geno’s commendable sixth-place finish.

CM – Lloyd Cardozo (Sporting Club de Goa)

Wearing the jersey number 10, Lloyd exemplified the precise qualities the team required. He emerged as the central figure, demonstrating remarkable creativity on the field. Lloyd’s ability to orchestrate plays and unlock defences with his vision and skill set him apart as a key player for the team. He also netted eight goals for Sporting Club de Goa.

RM – Chaitan Dabholkar (SESA FA)

Another top performer for SESA, whose modus operandi operated on the right flank. His ability to play short one-touch passes with the fullbacks and midfielders weaved magic for SESA. His ability to link up with teammates and orchestrate intricate passing sequences added a touch of magic to SESA’s gameplay.

AMF – Mevan Shawn Dias (Dempo SC)

Mevan possessed the knack for exploiting spaces and executing incisive runs inside for Dempo SC. His ability to identify openings and capitalise on them added a dynamic dimension to the team’s attacking play. Mevan’s attacking prowess was evident as he found the back of the net four times throughout the season, showcasing his ability to contribute effectively in the final third. 

AMF – Shubert Joanus Pereira (Pax of Nagoa)

Pax of Nagoa’s Shubert emerged as a scoring machine, netting 15 goals across the season. This impressive tally, despite not achieving a top-three finish, underlines his quality as a striker. Shubert’s consistent influence and finishing prowess throughout the Goa Pro League showcased him as a top forward to watch. 

ST – Joshua D’Silva (SESA FA)

SESA’s Joshua D’Silva redefined the role of a super sub in the Goa Pro League. Emerging from the bench, he left a trail of goals, amassing a phenomenal 24 to claim the top scorer’s crown. Despite SESA falling short of the championship, D’Silva’s impact was undeniable. Described as a complete package – tall, quick, and possessing tactical awareness – his finishing and blistering pace were on another level. D’Silva’s performances not only propelled him to top scorer but also cemented him as a rising star in Indian football, a name to watch for the future. 

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.