Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score


Mohun Bagan full squad for 2017-18 Season

Published at :July 26, 2017 at 6:26 PM
Modified at :July 26, 2017 at 6:26 PM
Post Featured Image

Khel Now

Amidst a lot of confusion after the ISL draft, Mohun Bagan clears the air with their squad list for the upcoming season of Calcutta Football League which will change as the I-league and Federation Cup comes closer.

After a season which saw the Greens-and-Maroons miss out on the I-league and Federation Cup in a virtual semi-final and final respectively, the Kolkata club has announced their team for the upcoming season of the Calcutta Football league.

1. Goalkeepers

Shilton Paul, Soram Poirei, Shibinraj K and Mithun Samanta are the four goalkeepers on MB's radar this season. Looking at the list, it is quite certain that Shilton Paul will take the starting role, with former DSK Shivajians and Delhi Dynamos shot-stopper Soram Poirei deputising. Sambhalpur Academy youngster Mithun Samanta and Shibinraj K will be expected to be given chances in cases of emergency.

2. Defenders

There are 13 defenders on Mohun Bagan's cheque-book this season, featuring some real powerful names like Kingsley Eze and Kingshuk Debnath, who's been appointed the captain of the side. Ricky Lallammawma, Bikramjit Singh, Abhishek Das, Debabrata Roy and Surajit Sil are the other names which could be given a look in. 

Also Read: AIFF approve demands of I-league clubs to challenge the glitz of ISL

Returning from U-23 National duty, Sarthak Golui is ticking the right boxes and will push for a starting role after playing good games against Qatar and Turkmenistan the U-23 AFC Championship qualifiers. Bikash Saini, Suman Hazra, Bikash Saini, Washim Akram Mullick and Gurjinder Kumar are other names on the roster. 

2. Midfielders

After buying dynamic Churchill Brothers' winger Chesterpaul Lyngdoh, the Greens-and-Maroons have also managed to have an impressive midfield department. One of the most impressive Indian talents at one time, Shilton D'Silva will expect to make the right headlines again. Denson Devadas, Nikhil Kadam, Raynier Fernandes and Israil Gurung will be expected to lead the line.

Also Read: Weekly Indian Football Transfer Round-Up!

The support will be provided by Pintu Mahata, Sourav Das and Rohit Mirza. 

3. Attackers

The team looks in good shape up front. With last season's Derby goal scorer Azharuddin Mallick coming closer to a starting XI, it will be difficult for Kamo Stephane Bayi and Ansumana Kromah to start on the side. Indian youth internationals Uttam Rai and Hari Shrestha will also be in the reckoning to get minutes under their belt after being ignored by the ISL sides in the draft. 

Also Read: West Bengal BJP writes to PM to include Kolkata clubs In ISL

Here's the full list: 

GOAL KEEPER: Soramangbam Poirei, Shilton Paul, Shibinraj K, Mithun Samanta

DEFENDERS: Arijit Bagui, Suman Hazra, Sarthak Golui, Abhishek Das, Bikash Saini, Bikramjit Singh, Surajit Sil, Kinshuk Debnath(Captain), Eze

MIDFIELDERS: Chesterpaul Lyngdoh, Pintu Mahata, Sourav Das, Denson Dendas, Raynier Fernandes, Shilton D'silva, Rohit Mirza, Nikhil Kadam, Israil Gurung  

FORWARDS: Azharuddin, Kamo Stephane Bayi, Ghanefo Ansumana Kromah , Naro Hari Shrestha, Uttam Rai 


Mentor: Sanjoy Sen

Head Coach: Shankarlal Chakraborty 

Gk Coach: Arpan Dey

[KH_RELATED_NEWS title="Related News"][/KH_RELATED_NEWS]

Physio: Abhinandan Chatterjee 

Physical Trainer: Samiran Nag