There are plenty of illustrious names on the list including a few of the league’s top goalscorers.

There is no doubt that the Premier League is the most followed football league in the world. The league possesses so much quality and always has something exciting to show for with world-class teams and players in abundance. In 1994, the league started awarding the Premier League POTM (Player of the Month) award, conferring the best player in every particular month of the season for their stellar performances.

Plenty of players have gone on to win it, based on their efforts and their team’s eventual performances in the month but some of them have made a habit of winning the trophy.

Here, we take a look at the five players who have the most Premier League POTM awards to show in their cabinet.

5. Wayne Rooney – 5

Wayne Rooney is without a doubt one of the legends of the Premier League with outstanding numbers during his career. He spent most of his time with Manchester United and ended up as their all-time top goalscorer with 253 goals in 559 games. He won 16 trophies with the Red Devils in a glorious 13-year period and among those 16 trophies, five were Premier League titles.

Rooney has been conferred the Premier League POTM award on five separate occasions. He was awarded twice in the 2005 season (February and December), March 2006, October 2007 and January 2010.

4. Robin van Persie – 5

Robin van Persie joins his former Manchester United teammate Wayne Rooney on the podium with five Premier League POTM awards. Van Persie starred for both Arsenal and United in his time in the Premier League when he was considered among the best strikers in the world at his peak.

Persie played a total of 280 Premier League games and scored 144 goals. He also won the Premier League Golden Boot in consecutive seasons for both Arsenal and Manchester United, making him only the second player after Alan Shearer to win the award for two different clubs consecutively. After years of toil and hardwork, Van Persie finally won the Premier League title in 2012-13 with Manchester United.

Van Persie won it in November 2005, October 2009, October 2011, December 2012 and April 2013.

ALSO READ: Fantasy Premier League: Players who scored the most points in 2019-20 season

3. Harry Kane – 6

Harry Kane takes the third spot in our list with six nominations as Premier League POTM. The London born striker has turned himself into one of the lethal strikers in the Premier League. Ever since he came into the picture for Tottenham Hotspur, Kane has been a prolific scorer and an inextricable part of Tottenham’s success.

The forward has scored 143 goals in 207 league games for Spurs. But despite all his efforts, he hasn’t been able to inspire them to winning silverware that merits a player of his capability unlike others in this list. But owing to his individual consistency, Kane has won the Premier League POTM award for the months of January and February 2015, March 2016, and the months of February, September and December in 2017.

2. Steven Gerrard – 6

Liverpool’s famous #8 and their son of the soil takes second spot in our list of record Premier League POTM winners. Gerrard was an inspirational character in the Liverpool midfield and was the epitome of loyalty to his club for 17 years where he scored 120 goals in 504 league games for the Reds, the third highest appearances record for Liverpool.

Captain Fantastic for Liverpool won the Premier League POTM award for six stellar monthly performances winning it in March four times (2001, 2003, 2009 and 2014), December 2004 and April 2006.

With Liverpool, Gerrard won every trophy there is to win apart from the Premier League which he came very close to winning in 2013-14 but missed out under acrimonious circumstances. But his capability and his leadership skills forever establish as one of the Premier League’s true heroes and as an immortal in the red half of Merseyside.

ALSO READ: Most consecutive league titles in top five European leagues

1. Sergio Aguero – 7

It is Manchester City’s top goalscorer Sergio Aguero who also tops the list of the highest Premier League POTM award winners. The prolific Argentine has won the award on seven different occasions that forms part of his envious list of individual and collective accolades in the Premier League.

He has been one of the true examples of the Cityzens’ rise to league and global stardom right from the time he scored that breathtaking goal in the final minute in 2011-12 to win Manchester City the Premier League title. Now he is still going strong with four Premier League titles, five League Cup titles and an FA Cup title along with plenty of individual accolades.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Twitter and join our community on Telegram.