Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

Quick Reads

Top five teams to have won most La Liga titles in history

Published at :March 10, 2022 at 12:20 AM
Modified at :December 13, 2023 at 1:01 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Real Madrid/Sky Sports)

Aditya Paharia

Real Madrid and Barcelona FC have dominated the league over the years.

Spanish football has entertained and given the fans some of the best moments to cherish. Though dominated mostly by the likes of Real Madrid and FC Barcelona, the La Liga matches are a treat for the fans from all over the world.

There are a total of nine teams who have won the prestigious league title. Let’s take a look at the top five teams to have won this prestigious title the maximum number of times.

5. Valencia CF (6 titles)

Valencia have won the same number of league titles and finished runners-up. Apparently, they have finished in the second place six times. They won their first La Liga title in the 1941-42 season. Meanwhile, their previous triumph came as long back as the 2003-04 campaign.

Along with this, they have also won the Spanish Cup (Copa del Rey) eight times. On the European front, the side won the UEFA Europa League in the same season they won the La Liga (2003-04). It is one remarkable feat for a team to taste both European and domestic success in the same season.

Related: Top 10 highest scorers in the La Liga of all time

4. Athletic Club (8 titles)

The 1983-84 title winning Athletic Club side (Courtesy: La Liga)

Bilbao have won the league title eight times and finished as runners-up seven times. On the European front, they have not managed to secure any titles, but have done an excellent job in Spain. They have also won the Copa del Rey a staggering 24 times.

Their first La Liga triumph came in the 1933-34 season while their last one was in 1983-84. Interestingly, that was their last league title and it was the only time when they won the league on consecutive occasions (they won it in the 1982-83 season as well). Bilbao's last trophy was the Spanish Super Cup, which the team lifted in 2019-20.

3. Atletico Madrid (11 titles)

The Madrid side has been known to nurture multiple young talents who have went on to become legends of the game. The list includes players such as Sergio Aguero, Diego Costa, Thibaut Courtois, David de Gea, Radamel Falcao and so on. They have won the La Liga 11 times, with the recent one coming last season (2020-21).

Atletico Madrid's first league title came in 1939-40 and was followed by another win in 1940-41. The Colchoneros are yet to taste the Champions League success, but have won the Europa League and the Super Cup on three occasions. The club has also won the Copa del Rey 10 times.

2. FC Barcelona (26 titles)

FC Barcelona last won the La Liga title in the 2018-19 (Courtesy: FC Barcelona)

No surprise as FC Barcelona take the second spot and by a huge margin. Spain has been dominated by two teams for majority of the time, with FC Barcelona being one of them. With Lionel Messi’s departure and players such as Ousmane Dembele causing instability at the club, their current season looked in danger.

But, former player and now manager Xavi has turned things around for the Catalans, as they sit third in the league table. Their current form may not be appealing to some, but their future certainly looks bright. Their last La Liga title came in the 2018-19 season.

1. Real Madrid (35 titles)

FC Barcelona’s arch-rivals Real Madrid take the top spot, with 35 La Liga titles in their kitty. Unlike their city rivals Atletico Madrid, Real have had a history of buying established players. They were once known as "The Galácticos", which means a galaxy of stars. Legendary players like Roberto Carlos, David Beckham, Cristiano Ronaldo, Zinedine Zidane, Luis Figo and more have represented the club in the past.

The Los Blancos won their first La Liga title in 1931-32. Apparently, their last league title came in 2019-20. With 63 points in 27 matches and an eight-point lead over second-placed Sevilla, they will look to extend their run to 35 titles this season.

Last updated on 1st June 2022

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and Facebook