Aston Rodrigues scored the equalizer for the Goan side.

Sesa Football Academy came from a goal down to hold JSW Bengaluru FC to a 1-1 draw in the second round fixture of the Vedanta Youth Cup, Goa 2019. The Blues twice came close to scoring in the first half but they lacked a finishing touch.

The first half ended with neither of the goalkeepers facing many shots. However, as soon as the second half began, the game gathered great pace. With Fredy Chawngthansanga in the centre, Bengaluru kept good possession of the ball, as Sesa players chased down right up to the goalkeeper.

As the game approached the hour mark, the Blues received a penalty courtesy of a Beckham Xavier tackle inside the box. Lalmunmawia stepped up to take the kick but Sesa custodian Hansel Coelho did great to parry his shot away. In the build up that followed the penalty, the goalkeeper made another amazing save, as the scores remained 0-0.

As the game gathered steam, Bengaluru found another breakthrough right on the hour mark as Akashdeep Singh finished from a close range to give his side the lead. In the next 15 minutes, the Blues saw two of their shots saved brilliantly by Hansel while another one hit the woodwork. During the same time, Sesa player Russel Vaz put up a reckless tackle as the referee brandished a yellow card.

As the game progressed towards closure, Sesa unleashed a great fighting spirit as Aditya Talwar came on to replace Russel. In the 75th minute, Reuben Castelino missed a great opportunity to put the home team back in the game. Nevertheless, Aston Rodrigues, who was in sound form on the day, scored a much-needed equalizer for Sesa Football Academy in the 80th minute.

Having lost the first game by close margins, Sesa showed a great spirit of fight back to earn a point. Aston Rodrigues was highly instrumental for the team in green and also received the Man of the Match trophy at the hands of Anju Turambekar, Head of Grassroots, AIFF and ex-Sesa Football Academy players Isaac D’souza and Tiburcio D’souza.

Sesa Football Academy next face Reliance Foundation Young Champs while Bengaluru FC play Tata Football Academy on 27th September.

Sesa Football Academy: Hansel Coelho (GK), Nigosh Bhuget, Manohar Naik, Md. Shafeeq, Beckham Xavier, Shridharnath Gawas, Russell Vaz, Omkar, Aston Rodrigues, Rueben Castellino, Ben Johnson.

Bengaluru FC: Dipesh Chauhan (GK), Johnson Singh, Lalmunmawia, Ratanbir Singh, Jagdeep Singh, Fredy Chawngthansanga, Bekey Oram, Damaitphang Lyngdoh,Ronik Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Lalthangliana.