Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

Ligue 1

List of all players to win Ligue 1 Player of the Season award

Published at :May 14, 2024 at 4:46 PM
Modified at :May 14, 2024 at 4:46 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : PSG, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Brazil)

Rajarshi Shukla

Kylian Mbappe won the 2023-24 season award

The Ligue 1 player whose achievements are deemed to be the finest of the season receives the official UNFP Ligue 1 Player of the Year award from the Union Nationale des Footballers Professionnels (UNFP).

Since its inception in the 1993–94 season, the award has been given out, with Paris Saint–Germain winger David Ginola becoming the inaugural recipient.

Kylian Mbapp is the present incumbent and record holder of the trophy. He earned it for Paris Saint-Germain during the 2023–24 season, his fifth straight year of winning.

As of 2023, this award had been given out 29 times, with each winner being unique except for Pauleta, who won it twice in 2001–02 and 2002–03.

The only other winners who have won it more than once are Eden Hazard (in 2010–11 and 2011–12), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (in 2012–13, 2013–14, and 2015–16), and Kylian Mbappe (who won it five times in a row in 2018–19, 2020–21, 2021–22, 2022–23, and 2023–24).

List of Ligue 1 Player of the Season award winners

1993–94David GinolaForward FranceParis Saint-Germain
1994–95Vincent GuerinMidfielderFranceParis Saint-Germain
1995–96Zinedine ZidaneMidfielder FranceBordeaux
1996–97Sonny AndersonForward BrazilMonaco
1997–98Marco SimoneForward ItalyParis Saint-Germain
1998–99Ali BenarbiaMidfielder AlgeriaBordeaux
1999–2000Marcelo GallardoMidfielder ArgentinaMonaco
2000–01Eric CarriereMidfielder FranceNantes
2001–02PauletaForward PortugalBordeaux
2002–03Pauleta (2)Forward PortugalBordeaux
2003–04Didier DrogbaForward Ivory CoastMarseille
2004–05Michael EssienMidfielder GhanaLyon
2005–06JuninhoMidfielder BrazilLyon
2006–07Florent MaloudaMidfielder FranceLyon
2007–08Karim BenzemaForward FranceLyon
2008–09Yoann GourcuffMidfielder FranceBordeaux
2009–10Lisandro LopezForward ArgentinaLyon
2010–11Eden HazardMidfielder BelgiumLille
2011–12Eden Hazard (2)Midfielder BelgiumLille
2012–13Zlatan IbrahimovicForward SwedenParis Saint-Germain
2013–14Zlatan Ibrahimovic (2)Forward SwedenParis Saint-Germain
2014–15Alexandre LacazetteForward FranceLyon
2015–16Zlatan Ibrahimovic (3)Forward SwedenParis Saint-Germain
2016–17Edinson CavaniForward UruguayParis Saint-Germain
2017–18NeymarForward BrazilParis Saint-Germain
2018–19Kylian MbappeForward FranceParis Saint-Germain
2019–20Not awarded due to COVID-19 Pandemic
2020–21Kylian Mbappe (2)Forward FranceParis Saint-Germain
2021–22Kylian Mbappe (3)Forward FranceParis Saint-Germain
2022–23Kylian Mbappe (4)Forward FranceParis Saint-Germain
2023–24Kylian Mbappe (5)Forward FranceParis Saint-Germain

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.