Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

UEFA European Championship

Scotland announce squad numbers for Euro 2024; Andrew Robertson to wear no 3

Published at :June 12, 2024 at 7:39 PM
Modified at :June 12, 2024 at 7:39 PM
Post Featured Image

Rajarshi Shukla

The Tartan Army will take on hosts Germany for the Euro 2024 event opener.

The days of 1–11 are long gone. Even international teams now have squad numbers in the modern football world.

Scotland are no exception. Steve Clarke’s team’s shirt numbers are out for the Euro 2024. After landing at the Munich airport, the Tartan Army moved to their official base for the competition organised by Germany. The base happens to be in the Bavarian Alps, in Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany.

With UEFA allowing just 26 players, Clarke had to make some difficult decisions. Hearts stalwart Craig Gordon and Rangers defender John Souttar, a former Tynecastle teammate, were left off the roster.

Due to an injury sustained during training, Lyndon Dykes will not be competing in the competition. So it should come as no surprise that Lawrence Shankland ended up with his No. 9 shirt. The Jambos’ top scorer was on fire the previous season, but it’s unclear if the Hearts striker will start on Friday night in Munich against Germany or Che Adams.

Is Lawrence Shankland the starting striker now that he has been given the number nine jersey? Maybe, maybe not. Adams will be donning the number ten at Euro 2024, the usual number in which we see him play for Southampton at club level.

As anticipated, Anthony Ralston, with number two on his back, appears to be the top choice for the right wing-back position. Ralston is likely to be selected ahead of Ross McCrorie for the starting XI spot. Important players like Andy Robertson, Kieran Tierney, Scott McTominay and John McGinn are among the others given numbers between one and eleven.

Also read: Top three Scotland players to watch out for at Euro 2024

Scotland squad numbers for Euro 2024

  • Angus Gunn – 1
  • Anthony Ralston – 2
  • Andrew Robertson – 3
  • Scott McTominay – 4
  • Grant Hanley – 5
  • Kieran Tierney – 6
  • John McGinn – 7
  • Callum McGregor – 8
  • Lawrence Shankland – 9
  • Che Adams – 10
  • Ryan Christie – 11
  • Liam Kelly – 12
  • Jack Hendry – 13
  • Billy Gilmour – 14
  • Ryan Porteous – 15
  • Liam Cooper – 16
  • Stuart Armstrong – 17
  • Lewis Morgan – 18
  • Tommy Conway – 19
  • Ryan Jack – 20
  • Zander Clark – 21
  • Ross McCrorie – 22
  • Kenny McLean – 23
  • Greg Taylor – 24
  • James Forrest – 25
  • Scot McKenna – 26

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.