Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

UEFA European Championship

Serbia announce squad numbers for Euro 2024; Dusan Vlahovic to wear no 7

Published at :June 14, 2024 at 10:48 PM
Modified at :June 14, 2024 at 10:48 PM
Post Featured Image

Rajarshi Shukla

The Eagles are the dark horses of Euro 2024.

The Serbian Euro 2024 squad has been chosen and there is a lot of talent on display.

It’s odd that Serbia are playing in its first European Championship since Montenegrin independence as the squad has advanced to three of the previous four World Cup finals.

Nonetheless, Dragan Stojkovic’s team departs for Germany with less optimism and zeal than they did for Qatar in 2022 following a less-than-stellar qualification campaign. That competition brought to light the main weakness of this unit: the inability to maintain leads.

Though captain Dusan Tadic is already 35 and may be participating in his final tournament at Euro 2024, Serbia will have alternatives to challenge anybody in former Fulham great Aleksandar Mitrovic, Juventus star Dusan Vlahovic and ex-Real Madrid attacker Luka Jovic.

Other players that have made an impression include Saudi-born midfielder Sergej Milinkovic-Savic, Fulham midfielder Sasa Lukic and Chelsea’s Dorde Petrovic. The lack of a true elite defender on the squad may provide greater entertainment for the neutral.

To advance to the following round, securing a third-place finish may also require the use of firepower. With England and Denmark predicted to win Group C, the Eagles may face Slovenia in a straight-up elimination match to secure a spot in the knockout rounds.

The Serbians are attending their first Euros since gaining independence. When FR Yugoslavia last participated in this tournament in 2000, they advanced to the quarterfinals without a player scoring more than Savo Milosevic.

Also read: Top five leagues with most players called up for Euro 2024

Serbia squad numbers for Euro 2024

  • Predrag Rajkovic – 1
  • Strahinja Pavlovic – 2
  • Nemanja Stojic – 3
  • Nikola Milenkovic – 4
  • Nemanja Maksimovic – 5
  • Nemanja Gudelj – 6
  • Dusan Vlahovic – 7
  • Luka Jovic – 8
  • Aleksandar Mitrovic – 9
  • Dusan Tadic – 10
  • Filip Kostic – 11
  • Dorde Petrovic – 12
  • Milos Veljkovic – 13
  • Andrija Zivkovic – 14
  • Srdan Babic – 15
  • Srdan Mijailovic – 16
  • Ivan Ilic – 17
  • Petar Ratkov – 18
  • Lazar Samardzic – 19
  • Sergej Milenkovic-Savic – 20
  • Mijat Gacinovic – 21
  • Sasa Lukic – 22
  • Vanja Milinković-Savić – 23
  • Uros Spajic – 24
  • Filip Mladenović – 25
  • Vejko Birmancevic – 26

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.