Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

UEFA Conference League

UEFA Europa Conference League: List of all Golden Boot winners

Published at :May 30, 2024 at 3:37 AM
Modified at :May 30, 2024 at 3:37 AM
Post Featured Image


Arthur Cabral holds the record for the highest goal-scoring tally in a UECL season

The UEFA Europa Conference League (UECL) is basically the third tier of European football. It has been in existence since the 2021-22 season. Just like the UEFA Champions League (UCL) and the UEFA Europa League (UEL), it is also run by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA).

The format is as such: eight groups are divided with four clubs each. Then the group winners get the Round of 16 slots directly while the other eight are chosen using knockout playoffs. In the playoffs, the second side of each group battles the third-placed side of each UEFA Europa League group to get their Round of 16 seats secured in UECL.

Then thereafter the tournament goes through the same route as the UCL and UEL. We have the Round of 16 (finally), quarter-finals, semi-finals and ultimately the main title-deciding final.

The reason for the introduction of the tournament was plain and simple, more inclusion. Giving clubs who usually missed out on the Europa League and Champions League to celebrate a competitive tournament in their own right.

These were the words of UEFA President Aleksander Čeferin after in 2018 the UECL was approved: “The new UEFA club competition makes UEFA’s club competitions more inclusive than ever before. There will be more matches for more clubs, with more associations represented in the group stages.”

Although in the case of the Champions League, the top scorer for a season is awarded the Golden Boot, there is no such official award for the UECL format yet. Still, a season’s top scorer is the top scorer. Scoring in any European competition is no piece of cake after all.

The first-ever goal was scored in the UECL qualifiers. On 6 July 2021, Evo Chris was the man from Mosta F.C., a club on the island of Malta, who did that business against FC Spartak Trnava. Later in the group stages, in September 2021, Maccabi Tel Aviv’s Stipe Perica scored the first-ever group stage goal against FC Alashkert.

It took only two weeks after the first group game for the tournament to be lit up with a player hat trick. Tottenham Hotspur‘s Harry Kane was the man on 30th September against NS Mura.

There have only been two champions to date – AS Roma (2022) and West Ham (2023), but the top scorer was always from a different club. The following list will give accurate information on Europa Conference League Golden Boot winners so far.

Ayoub El Kaabi scored 11 goals in the 2023-24 season to win the Golden Boot. He even scored the winning goal in the final for Olympiacos.

UEFA Europa Conference League: Golden Boot winners

2021-22Arthur Cabral (FC Basel) – 13 goals
2022-23Vangelis Pavlidis (AZ Alkmaar) – 9 goals
2023-24Ayoub El Kaabi (Olympiacos) – 11 goals

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.