Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

UEFA Conference League

UEFA Europa Conference League: List of all winners

Published at :May 30, 2024 at 3:36 AM
Modified at :May 30, 2024 at 3:36 AM
Post Featured Image


Italian side Roma were the first-ever winners of UECL led by Jose Mourinho

The UEFA Europa Conference League (UECL) was launched in the 2021-22 season. It is the third tier of the European competition run by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA).

Basically, the UEFA Champions League (UCL) and UEFA Europa League (UEL) were the main functioning tournaments up to the 2020-21 season. But there was something lacking in these tournaments. Only the biggest of the clubs across the domestic league functioning in nations of Europe had access to get into it and potentially earn the bragging rights along with prize money.

The solution? A third tournament that allows other clubs to also get some Europen competition thrill and feel. This obviously helps with revenue, fan engagement and whatnot. The UECL also shares the same anthem as the UEL. Its games are also played on Thursdays just like the Europa League ones.

Back in 2018, when the UECL was approved, these were the words UEFA President Aleksander Čeferin said: “The new UEFA club competition makes UEFA’s club competitions more inclusive than ever before. There will be more matches for more clubs, with more associations represented in the group stages.”

How does the UECL work? Well, It works the same as the UCL and UEL have been working out so far. First, there is the group stage where eight groups each having four teams play their group games. The winners of each group directly get to the Round of 16 stage.

The other eight clubs are chosen by knockout playoffs with the second-placed sides of each group battling with UEL third-placed sides. Yes, the Europa League third-placed sides who got knocked out now have a chance to win a competition (UECL) as well. Then the same path that has been in place for UCL and UEL, quarter, semi-final and the final.

To date, only three seasons have been played out. The first one ever, 2021-22, saw 140 total matches being played with a total of 401 goals scored. The eventual winners, AS Roma, started in Group C. After winning the group, they took on Vitesse, Bodø/Glimt and Leicester City in the Round of 16, quarter-finals and semi-finals respectively. The final which took place at Arena Kombëtare in Albani saw the Italians beat Feyenoord by 1-0 to clinch the inaugural title.

The 2022-23 season was won by Premier League side West Ham United. The 2023-24 final winner will be one of Olympiacos and Fiorentina, as it is set to be played out on 29 May at the AEK Arena in Greece.

Olympiacos came out as the champions after Ayoub El Kaabi scored a late winner. They became the first Greek side to win a major European honour.

List of all UEFA Europa Conference League winners

2021-22AS Roma
2022-23West Ham United

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.