Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

Formula 1

Formula 1: Top five drivers with most F1 race wins for Red Bull Racing

Published at :May 17, 2023 at 6:26 AM
Modified at :June 5, 2023 at 3:14 AM
Post Featured Image

Kushal Golwelkar

Two multiple World Champions lead the elite list.

Red Bull Racing first came into existence after making a deal with Jaguar Racing and acquired their entry. Jaguar Racing, in alliance with Ford, started racing in Formula One (F1) in the year 2000. Even Though the team achieved some points, a string of poor performances for the next few years saw Ford put up the Jaguar Racing team for sale.

Red Bull quickly snatched this opportunity and got their place in F1. After successfully purchasing Jaguar Racing, Red Bull rebranded the team and named it Red Bull Racing. Red Bull started racing in 2005 and was led by former Jaguar Racing technical director Christian Horner. The team struggled initially, and steadily improved over the following years.

With the signing of drivers like Mark Webber and Sebastian Vettel and a commitment to investing in cutting-edge technology and engineering, Red Bull Racing quickly established themselves as a top team in the sport. From 2005 to 2022, Red Bull has been racing for 18 seasons and Mercedes are the only team to have been more successful than Red Bull Racing. With 97 wins, 5 Constructors’ Championship titles and 6 Drivers’ Championships, Red Bull racing have firmly cemented their position as F1’s most successful teams ever.

5. Sergio Perez (5)

Sergio ‘Checo’ Perez is the most successful Mexican driver in the history of the sport. Checo joined Verstappen in Red Bull as their second driver in 2021 and has strongly supported Max Verstappen’s 2021 and 2022 Championship winning campaigns, as well as helping Red Bull win the Constructors’ championship in 2022. He is also known as “The King of Streets” because currently, he has won five races with Red Bull all of them coming at different street circuits like Azerbaijan, Singapore, Monaco, and Saudi Arabia.

He is set to continue racing for the team and his contract with Red Bull racing remains until 2024. He will be hoping to challenge for more race wins and podium finishes this season and challenge Verstappen for the title.

4.  Daniel Ricciardo (7)

After the retirement of Mark Webber in 2013, Red Bull needed a new driver and teammate for Sebastian Vettel for the 2014 season. Daniel Ricciardo turned out to be the perfect driver for the need and joined Red Bull Racing in 2014. Ricciardo had a successful time with Red Bull, winning seven races and securing three pole positions during his five seasons with the team.

He developed a reputation for his overtaking skills, and his victories included some memorable moments, such as his opportunistic wins in the 2014 Canadian Grand Prix and the 2018 Chinese Grand Prix. Ricciardo's most successful season with Red Bull was in 2014 when he finished third in the driver's championship behind the Mercedes drivers Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg.

Ricciardo left Red Bull at the end of the 2018 season to join Renault, where he raced for two seasons before moving to McLaren for the 2021-22 season. For the 2023 season, Ricciardo was left without a seat and decided to return to Red Bull as their third driver.

3. Mark Webber (9)

Mark Webber is a former Australian racing driver who competed in Formula One for twelve seasons, from 2002 to 2013. He joined Red Bull Racing in 2007. Webber enjoyed a successful time beside his then teammate Sebastian Vettel in Red Bull, winning nine races and securing 15 pole positions during his seven seasons with the team.

Webber's most successful season with Red Bull was in 2010, where he finished third in the driver's championship, behind Vettel and Ferrari's Fernando Alonso. Despite not winning a Drivers’ championship, Webber played an important role in helping Red Bull secure their first Constructors' championship in 2010, and their subsequent titles in 2011, 2012, and 2013.

2. Sebastian Vettel (38)

Sebastian Vettel was a highly successful driver who achieved great success while driving for Red Bull Racing in Formula 1. Vettel held the record for the most wins with Red Bull Racing until Verstappen won the Miami GP in 2023 and equalled Vettel's record. Vettel won four championships (in 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013) in those 38 wins.

Vettel left Red Bull for Ferrari and then later shifted to Aston Martin Racing in 2021 and then retired from F1 racing in 2022. Sebastian holds the record of being the youngest F1 champion at 23 years old, he then overcame large points deficit in 2012 to win the championship again.

1. Max Verstappen (40)

Verstappen's victories with Red Bull include some memorable moments, such as his first win for the team in the 2016 Spanish Grand Prix, where he became the youngest driver ever to win a Formula One race at the age of 18 years and 227 days. He has already won two Drivers' World Championships with Red Bull in 2021 and 2022 and is also the favourite to win the latest edition.

He overtook Vettel's record of most wins by a driver for Red Bull in the Monaco GP track where he beat rival Fernando Alonso of Aston Martin both in qualifying to take P1 and then in the feature race to make the record his own.