Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

Formula 1

Top five constructors with most wins at F1 Australian GP

Published at :March 21, 2024 at 10:07 PM
Modified at :March 21, 2024 at 10:07 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Formula 1)

Rahul Saha

The Australian GP has a storied history in Formula 1. From championship-deciding battles to major season opener shockers, this exciting Grand Prix down under has delivered it all. 

With a contract that is set to run until 2035, F1 fans around the world can bank on some exciting racing coming to Albert Park for years to come. In this article, we take a look at the most successful constructor at the Australian GP since it became a part of the F1 World Championship in 1985. 

5. Renault & Red Bull Racing: 2

The French constructors were the team to beat during both the 2005 and 2006 seasons, with Fernando Alonso becoming the youngest double world champion at the time. As far as the Australian GP is concerned, Renault won both the 2005 and 2006 GPs, with both Giancarlo Fisichella and Fernando Alonso sharing one win each. 

Red Bull Racing’s two wins at the Australian GP ironically came during two of their most dominant seasons in the sport. The first victory came during Sebastian Vettel’s dominant 2011 title run, and the second came during the 2023 season, in which Red Bull Racing won all but one race during the season. 

4. Mercedes: 4

Mercedes racked up four wins at the Australian GP during their recent dominant era with the introduction of the V6 engines. From 2014 to 2016, Mercedes won three Australian GPs on the bounce, with Nico Rosberg winning the 2014 and 2016 races and Lewis Hamilton taking the 2015 race after a close battle to the finish against Rosberg.

Their most recent victory in Albert Park came in 2019, when Finn driver Valtteri Bottas took the checkered flag for the Silver Arrows. 

3. Williams Racing: 5 

Williams Racing were at the pinnacle of motorsport during the late 80’s through the mid-90’s. And it is reflected in the number of race wins as well as championship wins this team managed to achieve during that time. 

Williams’ first win at the Australian GP came at the hands of one-time world champion Keke Rosberg in 1985. Following that, the team won an incident filled and rain-hit 1989 Grand Prix, with Thierry Boutsen taking the honours before a run of three successive wins from 1994 to 1996 saw the team take its tally up to five race wins at the Grand Prix down under. 

2. Ferrari: 10 

A majority of Ferrari’s success at the Australian GP has come since the turn of the millennium. Their first win at the Australian GP was also the last win of Enzo Ferrari’s life when Gerhard Berger won the 1987 in a comprehensive manner. 

The prancing horses had to wait another twelve years before Eddie Irvine delivered his first and Ferrari’s second win in 1999. From then on, the victories kept coming, with Michael taking four wins in 2000, 2001, 2002, and 2004. 

Their next victory came during Kimi Räikkönen’s championship-winning season in 2007. Ferrari’s last three victories at Albert Park came at the hands of Sebastian Vettel in 2017 and 2018 and Charles Leclerc in 2022.

1. McLaren: 11 

The iconic British racing team, McLaren, are the team with the most race wins at the Australian GP. Since its introduction in 1985 until the 2023 season, the Woking-based outfit have won a staggering eleven grand prix. 

Legendary French driver Alain Prost won McLaren their first two Australian GPs in 1986 and 1988. Following two seasons where Williams and Benetton took the top step, McLaren returned to the top of the podium in 1991, 1992, and 1993, with two wins for Ayrton Senna and one for Gerhard Berger. 

McLaren won again in 1997 and 1998, both seasons where the team also won the Constructors Championship. Ironically, the last four Australian GP winners for McLaren are all British drivers. David Coulthard won in 2003, followed by Lewis Hamilton in 2008, and Jenson Button in 2010 and 2012. 

With both McLaren and Ferrari back towards the front of the grid and the Australian GP being there for at least until 2035, both teams will be looking to get one over the other.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.