Khel Now logo
HomeSportsLive Score

Khelo India Games

Khelo India Youth Games 2023: Weightlifters Arati Tatgunti, A V Susmitha break national youth records to win gold

Published at :January 28, 2024 at 12:30 AM
Modified at :January 28, 2024 at 12:30 AM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Artsmith)

Khel Now

Haryana dominated wrestling

Maharashtra weightlifter Arati Tatgunti and A V Susmitha of Andhra Pradesh set new National Youth Records to clinch the gold medal in the girls 49 kg and 55kg categories respectively on a day Haryana bagged four of the five gold medals on offer in wrestling to close in on second-placed Tamil Nadu in the 6th Khelo India Youth Games 2023 on Saturday.

In a keenly fought three-way contest between Arati, her state-mate Soumya Dalvi and Assam’s Panchami Sonowal at the Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium in the 49kg category, the former emerged victories lifting a total weight of 170, including 75 in snatch and 95 in Clean and Jerk, thereby creating new records in snatch, clean & jerk and overall.

In fact, silver medallist Sonowal also improved on the earlier marks, thereby forcing Arati to push herself to go for higher weights and the Maharashtra lifter executed her lifts with precision to hand her state second gold medal of the day from the weightlifting arena.

Sonowal, who had won the gold medal in the last edition of the Games, went for a 97kg lift in her last Clean and Jerk attempt to clinch the gold medal but injured her back in the process and had to be taken to the hospital for scans.

Later, Susmitha set new overall record with a total lift of 173 kg and clinched the gold medal.

But it was Haryana, who were the biggest mover on the medals table as they dominated the opening day of wrestling competition. Monika (girls 46kg), Neha (girls 57kg), Amarjeet (boys 51kg Greco Roman) and Vinay (boys 92kg freestyle) clinched the gold medals with comfortable victories on their respective opponents and their girls’ hockey team bagged their fifth consecutive title with a 1-0 over Madhya Pradesh.

Maharashtra continued to stay on top of the medals table adding four more gold medals to their tally. Lifter Mahadev Vadar (boys 67kg), wrestler Samarth (boys 60kg GR) and swimmer Rutuja Rajadnya added a gold medal each to take the state’s tally to.

Rajadnya became the fastest girls’ swimmer of the Khelo India Youth Games at the SDAT Aquatic complex by winning the 50m freestyle race with a timing of 29.18 sec. Assam’s Jahnabi Kashyap and Subranshini Priyadarshini clinched the silver and bronze respectively.

Indian Sports Live Coverage on Khel Now

The honour of the fastest swimmer in boys went to Jananjoy Jyoti Hazarika of Assam, who touched the wall with a timing of 25.53 sec. Salil Bhagwat of Maharashtra and Gujarat’s Heer Pitroda took the silver and bronze respectively.

Earlier, cyclist Alanis Lilly Cubeleo of Kerala won the girls 60km individual road race while Chandigarh’s Jai Dogra topped the boys 30km time trial at ECR.

West Bengal and Telangana added a gold medal each to their tally from the Guru Nanak College shooting range.

Ashmit Chatterjee of West Bengal clinched the 10m Air Rifle gold with a final score of 250.9 with Haryana’s Himanshu (250.6) and Manvendra Singh Shekhawant of Rajasthan (227.6) bagging the silver and bronze respectively.

In the 25m Rapid Fire pistol event, Telangana’s K Tanishq Murlidhar Naidu scored 19 points to take the gold. Andhra Pradesh’s Mukhesh Nilavalli (18) and Maharashtra’s Swaraj Bhondave (16) won the silver and bronze respectively.




60km Individual: Gold – Alanis Lilly Cubeleo (Ker) 01:57:04.640; Silver – Santoshi Oraon (Jha) 01:57:04.950; Bronze – J Srimathi (TN) 02:09:57.930


30km Time Trial: Gold – Jai Dogra (Chd) 41:09.550; Silver – Kheta Ram Chiga (Raj) 41:25.072; Bronze – Akshar Tyagi (Del) 41:29.904



Gold Medal Match: Haryana bt Madhya Pradesh 1-0

Bronze Medal match: Odisha bt Mizoram 4-3


Gold Medal Match: Odisha bt Madhya Pradesh 4-0

Bronze Medal match: Haryana bt Jharkhand 5-1



Long Staff Fight: Gold – Anugraha/Durga (Ker); Silver – Sreelakshmi KG/Ayana KK (Ker); Bronze – Samiksha Begam/Jigyasa Amfi (Asm), Vidhya Lakshmi MM/Vaigha Lakshmi JS (Ker)


Chuvadukal: Gold – Abhijith Asokan UA (Ker); Silver – V Surjith (TN); Bronze – Pranav Jitesh (Har)



10m Air Rifle: Gold – Ashmit Chatterjee (WB) 250.9; Silver – Himanshu (Har) 250.6; Bronze – Manvendra Singh Shekhawat (Raj) 227.6

25m Rapid Fire: Gold – K Tanishq Muralidhar Naidu (Tel) 19; Silver – Mukesh Nilavalli (AP) 18; Bronze – Swaraj Bhondave (Mah) 16



200m freestyle: Gold – Vritti Agarwal (Tel) 2:11.22; Silver – Aditi Hegde (Mah) 2:12.30; Bronze – Sri Charani Tumu (Kar) 2:13.61

100m breaststroke: Gold – Venika Parikh (Guj) 1:14.04s; Silver – Pahi Borah (Asm) 1:15.80; Bronze – M U Joyshree (TN) 1:16.26

50m butterfly: Gold – Rutuja Rajadnya (Mah) 29.18s; Silver – Jahnabi Kashyap (Asm) 29.76; Bronze – Subranshini Priyadarshini (Asm) 29.81

800m freestyle: Gold – Vritti Agarwal (Tel) 9:22.74s; Silver – Aditi Mulay (Kar) 9:28.44s; Bronze – Meenakshi Menon (Kar) 9:34.09s


200m freestyle: Gold – Yug Chelani (Raj) 1:54.41s; Silver – Tirthank Pegu (Asm) 1:55.23; Bronze – Gotteti Sampath Kumar Yadav (AP) 1:55.62s

100m breaststroke: Gold – Rana Pratap (Jha) 1:04.91; Silver – Vidith S Shankar (Kar) 1:05.73; Bronze – Bhaagya Gahlaut (Del) 1:06.77

50m butterfly: Gold – Jananjoy Jyoti Hazarika (Asm) 25.53s; Silver – Salil Bhagwat (Mah) 25.73; Bronze – Heer Pitroda (Guj) 26.00


Girls: West Bengal bt Gujarat 25-11, 30-28, 25-19; Rajashtan bt Tamil Nadu 13-25, 25-20, 25-20, 25-18

Boys: Haryana bt Uttar Pradesh 25-22, 25-17, 25-18; Tamil Nadu bt bt Andhra Pradesh 18-25, 25-22, 23-25, 25-23, 15-11.



49kg: Gold – Arati Tatgunti (Mah) 170kg; Silver – Panchami Sonowal (Asm) 167; Bronze – Soumya Dalvi (Mah) 165

55kg: Gold – V Susmitha (AP) 173; Silver – Mina Santa (Odi) 171; Bronze – Kanika Shree VR (TN) 168


61kg: Gold – Sadananda Bariha (Odi) 242 kg; Silver – Anush Lokhande (Mah) 237 kg; Bronze – Riki Gogoi (Asm) 235 kg

67kg: Gold – Mahadev Vadar (Mah) 253; Silver – P Akash (TN) 242; Bronze – Deepak Kumar Pradhan (Odi) 242

73kg: Gold – NV Mahesh (AP) 265; Silver – VM Vasantha Kumar (TN) 246; Bronze – Aayush Rana (UP) 245



46 kg: Gold – Monika (Har); Silver – Aditi Kumari (Del); Bronze – Komal Verma (Raj), Rutuja Gurav (Kar)

57 kg: Gold – Neha (Har); Silver – Neetu (Har); Bronze – Sonam Jat (Raj), Divya Phalswal (Del)


51kg GR: Gold – Amarjeet (Har); Silver – Jahir Rajak (Bih); Bronze – Aditya Tate (Mah), Aakash (Del)

60kg GR: Gold – Samarth (Mah); Silver – Abhishek Nishad (Chd); Bronze: Sonu (Har), Sourab (Har)

92kg FS: Gold – Vinay (Har); Silver – Abhishek Mann (Del); Bronze – Vansh Panwar (UP), Saurabh Jadhav (Mah)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram

Trending Articles


  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2023 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.