National Games

National Games 2023 October 31 Results: Swimming power couple Virdhawal, Rutuja Khade break national records to win gold

Khel NowKhel Now
November 1 2023
National Games 2023 October 31 Results: Swimming power couple Virdhawal, Rutuja Khade break national records to win gold
(Courtesy : National Games)

Maharashtra took its total medall count to 123 asserting its dominance yet again.

Swimming sensation Virdhawal Khade and his partner Rujuta Khade, hailing from Maharashtra, made a resounding impact at the National Games 2023 held at Campal Swimming Pool, breaking Games records and clinching gold medals in their respective events. Their exceptional performances left spectators in awe and set the stage for a memorable day of sporting achievements.

In the men’s 50m freestyle event, Virdhawal, a 2010 Asian Games bronze medallist, demonstrated his prowess by securing the gold medal with a lightning-fast time of 22.82 seconds. He faced stiff competition from Srihari Nataraj, Karnataka’s swimming sensation, who finished with the silver in 22.91 seconds. Maharashtra’s Mihir Ambre secured the bronze with a time of 22.99 seconds.

The Khade family’s joy didn’t stop there, as Rujuta Khade continued the celebrations by smashing the Games record in the women’s 50m freestyle event, winning the gold with a remarkable time of 26.42 seconds. She outshone her competitors, with Shivangi Sharma from Assam earning silver in 26.80 seconds and Janhvi Choudhary from West Bengal claiming the bronze in 26.89 seconds.

Reflecting on their achievements, Rujuta Khade shared, “It is very special for both of us. We’ve been winning this event together since 2019, but every time it feels just as special as the first time. Here today, winning the medal feels great, but setting the National Games record together makes it even more special for both of us.”

The state of Maharashtra continued to assert its dominance in the National Games, increasing its total medal tally to an impressive 123, including 52 gold, 35 silver, and 36 bronze medals. The Services Sports Control Board (SSCB) secured one more gold medal than Haryana, positioning themselves ahead of Haryana in the overall medal tally with 19 gold medals, concluding the day with 18 golds.

While the athletics competitions faced delays due to heavy rainfall, the spirit of competition remained undiminished. Jyoti Yarraji, an Asian Games medallist, anchored Andhra Pradesh to victory in the 4x100m women’s relay, outpacing Kerala and Karnataka, who claimed silver and bronze medals, respectively.

After the competition resumed, Tejaswin Shankar, representing Delhi and an Asian Games Silver medallist, triumphed in the Decathlon, setting a new National Games record with a total of 7199 points. Rohit Roman of SSCB secured the silver with 6794 points, and N. Thowfeeq of Kerala earned the bronze with 6755 points.

In the 4x100m men’s relay, Tamil Nadu clinched the gold with an impressive time of 40.05 seconds, with Odisha securing silver and Kerala taking home the bronze.

Over at the Ponda Multipurpose Indoor Stadium in Taekwondo, Maharashtra and Gujarat demonstrated their prowess by clinching two gold medals each, out of the five that were contested. The Services Sports Control Board (SSCB) secured the remaining gold.

On the football pitch at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Fatorda, Maharashtra battled last edition’s silver medallists Kerala to a thrilling 2-2 draw, while Manipur narrowly edged past Santhosh Trophy runners-up Meghalaya with a score of 2-1 in Pool A.

The 37th National Games continued to captivate and inspire sports enthusiasts with these remarkable achievements, showcasing the exceptional talent and dedication of athletes from across the nation.

Indian Sports Live Coverage on Khel Now

Important results from Day 5, October 31, of National Games 2023



Gold – Tejaswin Shankar (Delhi) – 7199 points (NGR)

Silver – Rohit Roman (SSCB) – 6794 points

Bronze – N. Thowfeeq (Kerala) – 6755 points

4 X 100 M Relay Women

Gold – Andhra Pradesh – 45.61 s

(Chelemi Pratyusha, Bhavani Yadav, L. Madhu Kavya Reddy, Jyothi Yarraji)

Silver – Kerala – 46.02 s

(V. Neha, Remaya Rajan, P.D Anjali, A.P Shilbi)

Bronze – Karnataka – 46.22 s

(Medha Kamath, C. Anjali, T. Daneshwari, S.S Sneha)

4 X 100 M Relay Men

Gold – Tamil Nadu – 40.05 s

(S. Tamil Arasu, R. Sai Siddharth, V.K Elakkiyadasan, Kathiravan)

Silver – Odisha – 40.13 s

(Mruty Dondapati, Aryan Ekka, Lalu Prasad Bhoi, Amiya Kumar Mallick)

Bronze – Kerala – 40.14 s

(D.B Bibin, Muhammed Shan, C.V Anurag, T. Midhun)

Javelin Throw

Gold – Shilpa Rani (Haryana) – 54.82 m

Silver – Priyanka Singh (Haryana) – 53.75 m

Bronze – Rashmi K.Shetty (Andhra Pradesh) – 52.55 m


50m Freestyle Men

Gold – Virdhawal Khade (Maharashtra) – 22.82 s (NGR)

Silver – Srihari Nataraj (Karnataka) – 22.91 s

Bronze – Mihir Ambre (Mahrashtra) – 22.99 s

50m Freestyle Women

Gold – Rujuta Khade (Maharashtra) – 26.42 s (NGR)

Silver – Shivangi Sharma (Assam) – 26.80 s

Bronze – Janhvi Choudhary (West Bengal) – 26.89 s

400m Medley Men

Gold – Shoan Ganguly (Karnataka) – 4:28.09 s (NGR)

Silver – Advait Page (Madhya Pradesh) – 4:28.20

Bronze – Sajan Prakash (Kerala) – 4:32.18 s

200m Backstroke Men

Gold – Nithik Nathella (Tamil Nadu) – 2:03.32 s (NGR)

Silver – Rishabh Das (Maharashtra) – 2:04.80 s

Bronze – Advait Page (Madhya Pradesh) – 1:05.79 s

200m Backstroke Women

Gold – Palak Joshi (Maharashtra) – 2:22.12 s

Silver – Soubrity Mondal (West Bengal) – 2:22.39 s

Bronze – Karnataka – Sanjana Prabhugaonker (Goa) – 2:23.64 s

400m Medley Women

Gold – S. Lakshya (Karnataka) – 5:12.27 s

Silver – Hashika Ramachandra (Karnataka) -5:13.42 s

Bronze – Shrungi Bandekar (Goa) – 5:13.69 s


Men’s Individual Poomsae

Gold – Laishram Dingku Singh (SSCB) – 6.83 points

Silver – Lalthlamuanpuia (Mizoram) – 6.68 points

Bronze – Miching Taja (Arunachal Pradesh) – 6.56 points

              Vansh Prem Singh Thakur (Maharashtra) – 6.55 points

Women’s Individual Poomsae

Gold – Mrunali S. Harnekar (Maharashtra) – 6.81 points

Silver – Laya Fathima C.K (Kerala) – 6.66 points

Bronze – Rikpy Nyodu (Arunachal Pradesh) – 6.58 points,

              Umelly Mangshatabam (Manipur) – 6.34 points

Women’s Under 46 Kg

Gold – Twisha Kakadiya (Gujarat)

Silver – Sakshi Patil (Maharashtra)

Bronze – Parsida N.C (Kerala)

              Naoroibam Jina Devi (Manipur)

Men’s Under 54 Kg

Gold – Abhijeet Khopade (Maharashtra)

Silver – Nirman Rupam Kashyap (Assam)

Bronze – Om Lal Sah (Uttarakhand)

              Vikash (Haryana)

Men’s Under 87 Kg

Gold – Jay Nilesh Kimayagar (Gujarat)

Silver – Manjeet Singh (Rajasthan)

Bronze – Sudhir Chauhan (Nagaland)

              Pramod Joshi (SSCB)



Pool A: Manipur bt Tamil Nadu – 4-0

Pool B: Punjab bt Karnataka – 4-1, Mahrashtra bt Goa – 2-1


Pool A: Haryana drew Odisha – 3-3

Pool B: Jharkhand drew Uttar Pradesh – 4-4, Tamil Nadu bt Goa – 6-3

Women’s Football

Pool A: West Bengal bt Jharkhand – 3-2, Manipur bt Tamil Nadu – 2-0

Men’s Football

Pool A: Kerala drew Maharashtra – 2-2, Manipur bt Meghalaya – 2-1

Men’s Beach Football

Semi-Finals: Kerala bt Punjab – 11-3, Goa bt Lakshadweep – 7-5


Women’s Team Semi-Finals

Gujarat bt Telangana – 2-0

Maharashtra bt Tamil Nadu – 2-0

Men’s Team Semi-Finals

Karnataka bt Uttar Pradesh – 2-1

Water Polo

Group Stage Matches


Maharashtra bt Assam – 25-1

Karnataka bt Manipur – 20-6


Maharashtra bt Manipur – 28-3

Kerala bt Karnataka – 18-1


Platform Men

Gold – Ningthoujam Willson Singh (SSCB)

Silver – Sourav Debnath (SSCB)

Bronze – Tushar Gitaye (Maharashtra)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.