The Kolkata side will add some star power to the historic tournament…

East Bengal have decided to play in the coveted Bordoloi Trophy commencing from 18 September in Guwahati.

The prestigious tournament had lost its glow and flavour after the two big clubs from Kolkata and other I-League teams did not participate in what was once a top ranked tournament in Indian football due to a heavy schedule. But thanks to the Indian Super League, this year teams like Shillong Lajong and East Bengal will be taking part to keep their players match fit ahead of the I-League. Other state league teams like United Sikkim , Flemingo of Nagaland and ASEB Sports Club will be filling the remaining spots .

Three Star Club will be coming from Nepal and one team from Bangladesh will also participate in the event. It is expected that the participation of these heavyweight clubs will be a better advert for Indian football. The prize money for the Bordoloi Trophy this year will be Rs 20,00,000. The matches are scheduled to take place at 7pm through the week to lure in students and office goers alike.

The Bordoloi Trophy was held for the first time in the year 1952 and it was won by Railway Sports Club Pandu. Since then, it has been the face of football in Assam till the mid-1980s. Later on, with television showcasing live matches including international ones, crowds dwindled. Mohun Bagan have been the most successful team in the history of the tournament having won the coveted title seven times.

Report by Khel Now Correspondent Rony. Sports passionate and content writer. He is big football and cricket fan.